An Unusual Recipe That Surprisingly Turned Out To Be Awesome

Ratna S
Good Vibes Club
Published in
3 min readFeb 14, 2024
Unsplash Image

Cooking is at once a child’s play and adult joy. And cooking done with care is an act of love.” — Craig Claiborne

Experimenting with cooking a new dish is risky. But, at the same time, having the same type of food often becomes monotonous, and our palates crave for a change.

To beat this repetitive pattern, I decided to try a dish whose recipe I found online.

It had never been made in my house before, yet it definitely looked interesting!

So I went ahead and gave it a shot.

As I proceeded with my plan, a thought kept pricking my mind—what if the dish doesn’t turn out well or no one likes it?

All my efforts, along with the dish, would go down the drain!

After all, it was not one of the regular dishes that we have every day. It required ingredients that were not available in my kitchen, and I had to buy them separately.

I followed the recipe exactly as it was demonstrated, step by step, which, is as below (in case you are interested in knowing). The results were far beyond my expectations!

Semolina Balls

Semolina Balls Recipe

  • Dry roast 1 cup of semolina till it becomes aromatic.
  • In another pan, heat oil, and add finely chopped green chilies and ginger. Sauté for a minute.
  • Next, add 2.5 cups of water to the same pan and bring it to a boil.
  • Add half a cup of grated coconut, and wait till it boils.
  • Now add the roasted semolina little by little while stirring continuously. Make sure no lumps are formed. Cook for 3 minutes.
  • You’ll get a smooth paste at the end of this process. Knead the dough for 2–3 minutes while it’s still warm to soften.
  • Make small balls and steam them for 10 minutes.
  • Finally, to transform this dish into a yummylicious treat, season it.
  • To get that typical Indian flavor, I tempered it with fried curry leaves, mustard seeds, green chili, and turmeric powder. Garnish with coriander leaves and a dash of lemon.

All my apprehensions melted when my cooking was complete. The final result was astounding, I came out with flying colors. The lip-smacking dish was a winner, and everyone loved it.

This activity was so therapeutic, and I plan to indulge in it more often.

It is not just a perfect solution for overcoming boredom, a hobby to keep you occupied. You feel so satisfied when you cook a scrumptious dish for your family, and they enjoy it! The appreciation and rewards are worth it !

Thank you for reading, and if you try this recipe, do let me know in the comments….

--

--

Ratna S
Good Vibes Club

Writer, editor, globetrotter.I weave stories around travel/wellness/lifestyle. Let's wander together through amazing experiences.Website: www.travelsimplygo.com