Being Grateful is Hard

Candy Prisms
Good Vibes Club
Published in
2 min readJul 22, 2024
Photo by Gabrielle Henderson on Unsplash

Being grateful each day is hard. That’s why it’s so important to sit down and think of what was worth being grateful for.

I had a therapist at one-point years ago, who was big on finding three things you’re grateful for daily and writing them down. She stressed the importance of putting pen to paper for this, and not just using an app on your phone. The act of writing it down made it stick in your memory more, and it also made you stop and really think about what three things you wanted to write about. Her only rule: don’t reuse the same thing. Make sure each day is different reasons.

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

It was so much harder than you would ever think, especially on those mentally rough days. You know the kind, where everything has gone wrong, and life is getting you down. The act of sitting down and finding reasons to be grateful about THREE!! things on those days feels impossible. Those are the days that I learned the most from though. When I was forced to really look through my day and find something to write about, it made me realize all I have in life. I may not be rich, with anything I want, but this really made me focus on what I have and how lucky I truly am.

I’d honestly recommend everyone give this a go. I still do it occasionally, especially on those harder days. I always feel better after I’m done, and it gets my mind in a better place.

--

--

Candy Prisms
Good Vibes Club

Mom | Writer | Invisible Illness | Small Business owner | Books and book reviews | ADHD rambles