Embrace the Beauty of Being Perfectly Imperfect

Lessons From a Misfit Carrot

Sherry Atkinson
Good Vibes Club

--

Photo by author edited using Canva

I was delighted when I found this cavorting carrot in a bag of “ordinary” carrots. Some might consider it ugly. But I’m grateful it escaped the quality control folks and found its way to me! Over the years, I’ve received oddly shaped potatoes, tomatoes, and fruit in other prepackaged bags. When my kids were little, they also delighted in these whimsical gifts of nature.

“Look, Mom! A dancing carrot!” my daughter would exclaim.

I recently viewed a news feature showcasing companies actively buying discarded fruit and vegetables to sell at a discount. The feature highlighted that 20% of produce in the United States goes to waste solely due to its imperfect appearance. Surprisingly, this produce isn’t rotten or bruised, but simply has unconventional shapes. My little dancing carrot managed to evade such a fate, prompting contemplation on the pursuit of perfection.

Is the Quest for Perfection a Noble Endeavor or a Trap?

Some people believe that the quest for perfection is a noble endeavor. They believe that if we strive for perfection, we will achieve greatness. However, I believe that the quest for perfection can actually be a trap. When we’re constantly striving for perfection, we’re setting ourselves up for…

--

--

Sherry Atkinson
Good Vibes Club

Taking off my mask to write about what matters to me. I enjoy connecting with other writers/authors/poets.