Prompt Responses to Peculiar Julia’s NaPoWriMo posts

For Two Generations The Tiger Survived Until Smoky Brought Him Down

Ann James
Good Vibes Club
2 min readApr 9, 2024

--

Not a tiger, but the dog looks a little like Smoky. Photo by Jesper Brouwers on Unsplash

Toys and games — what, where, when, how, or who? Maybe a lack of toys, a stolen toy, a homemade toy, a coveted toy, a shared toy, a broken toy, the colour, the feel the smell of it … what it meant to you…what it symbolised…what it looks like in your mind’s eye…the unwrapping…the giving…the receiving…the loss…can shake a poem out of you?

Long before I knew of Tigger

there was my tiger, life-sized,

Green button eyes shining in the dark

She came home with me from Germany

perhaps the P.X. in Vogelweh?

Long before my memory

A friend to pull ‘round the yard

in me little red wagon

Two decades later

I passed her on to my son

who more often talked to Mickey Mouse

--

--

Ann James
Good Vibes Club

Her writing muse lurks in the volcanic hills amidst mustangs, marmots and jackalopes. While hiking with her dogs, Ann stumbles upon stories of dark humor.