How Setting Goals Can Help You Live a More Purposeful Life

Colonel Sanders’s KFC recipe for chicken was rejected 1,009 times

MLinda Writes
Good Vibes Club
3 min readJul 26, 2023

--

"If you want to live a happy life, tie it to a goal, not to people or things." — Albert Einstein

Image by Anna Tarazevich from pexels.com

Who enjoys KFC? I do! The Colonel's story is an unknown venture for many. I discovered it one year and a half ago and always remember it. I wrote it down and pinned it to my corkboard.

Fun fact:

Did you know that Colonel Sanders's KFC recipe for chicken was rejected 1,009 times before anyone accepted it?

Sander's "secret recipe" was coined "Kentucky Fried Chicken" and quickly became a hit (Culver, 2023). (click this link to read more).

Image by Erik McClean from Pexels.com

Colonel Sander's story changed my life when I started setting realistic goals, staying consistent, and achieving them. I started feeling good inside, and it's become addicting to get things done.

It fills you with a sense of purpose and belonging. You'd be amazed to see how many people like you online.

The lives you brighten and the people's hearts you touch make minor differences.

From 10 views to 1,000 on most of my YouTube shorts, from singing in 3 weeks following my written plan has astounded me!

The funny thing is that I was only sometimes like this two years ago. Yes, I was always organized but I still needed to achieve my goals.

~The main thing that ruined my ability to achieve my goals was my lack of consistency.

Lack of consistency made me fail many times in life. I blame myself 100% and am happy I can own up to that. Using my wall calendar, life planner, writing goals planner, and positive affirmation cards has motivated me to keep going toward my goals.

Motivational things that help me achieve my goals:

  • Wall calendar -

I use my wall calendar to put all of my music things only. This allows clarity on what tasks must be done and when. It also makes all of my goals achievable in bite-sized chunks versus colossal.

  • Life planner -

My life planner helped me keep track of my health and mental goal, along with any appointments that are coming up, to stay on track.

  • Writing goals planner-

My writing planner helps me to keep on task with my writing goals as well as writing gigs. As a new writer, there is so much information out there. I'm enrolled in the Elna Cain blog; write your way to your first 1K.

She recommended the writing planner, and I love it so far. (Not affiliate marketing, just my honest opinion). :)

  • Positive affirmation cards (self-made)

I use my sticker book and laminator to create positive affirmation cards with my son. It helps to keep us motivated on the hard days ahead.

  • Random Office supplies -

Laminator, shredder, highlighters, have of staples (hahaha), and thousands of motivational stickers.

My stickers motivate me to keep going because of the positive affirmations they display.

I use YouTube frequently to learn new things and to maintain positivity on my life journey.

To wrap things up…

Setting goals can help individuals live more purposefully by providing direction, motivation, and a sense of accomplishment. Individuals can focus their energy and efforts toward something meaningful and fulfilling by setting specific and achievable goals.

Additionally, setting and working towards goals can lead to personal growth and development and increased happiness and satisfaction with one's life.

Remember…

Colonel Sanders was rejected 1,009 times for his famous KFC recipe, but his perseverance prevailed!

What are some tools you use to stay positive and on task? :)

~ Marlenny Linda writes

--

--

MLinda Writes
Good Vibes Club

I am a self-improvement blogger who helps moms and families of children with disabilities improve their lives with creative techniques.