How to Manage Life’s Challenges Without Losing Your Sanity

Navigating life’s ups and downs

Marcela Cardoso
Good Vibes Club
3 min readFeb 16, 2024

--

Photo by Magnet.me on Unsplash

I have a secret.

Sometimes, I feel like a fraud.

I usually write about navigating life smoothly, but the truth is, I don’t have everything figured out. I don’t always feel good.

Many of my days are a mess.

  • I have no clarity about what I want to do (even though I know what makes me happy).
  • I feel like I’m going nowhere.
  • I cry and want to be left alone.

Lately, I’m all over the place. It’s getting hard even to wake up. Now, I only can do what is within my reach: play the game of life with the cards I’ve been dealt.

Our lips won’t crack a smile every day. The sky won’t be always blue. Nevertheless, it’s important to find ways to handle difficult times gracefully to safeguard our sanity. These strategies can include:

Find good things amidst the chaos

No matter how awful you feel, there will be little miracles happening everywhere.

Did you stop to see the sun shining or the snow following today? Did you notice how amazing the fact you have food to eat is?

Finding things to be grateful for can make you realize that whatever you’re going through is not the end of the world.

It’s just a matter of looking at the situation from another perspective.

Photo by Gabrielle Henderson on Unsplash

Do what brings you joy

When life sucks, it’s not rare to just want to go to bed and cry all day long. However, doing small things you enjoy can improve your mood little by little.

These activities can include reading, walking in nature, or watching a stand-up comedy concert. Everything that brings a smile to your lips is valid.

Know that nothing lasts forever

As I always write in my articles, the nature of life is impermanence. That means that nothing lasts forever. Not even your pain.

It’s crucial to process your feelings, but you don’t need to dwell in sorrow forever. Just know it’ll end up somehow. Joy is just around the corner.

Photo by Zach Betten on Unsplash

Be vulnerable

This step can be a real challenge, but it’s worth it. A lot of people around the world are going through the same issue as you. Why don’t you talk to them and share your experiences?

Vulnerability isn’t a sign of weakness; it’s a tool that creates connection. It’s what makes us humans.

If you don’t have anyone you can talk, find an online community you can share your story with. You may find some people who will judge and troll you, but most of them want to create genuine connections.

I’m still amazed at how I found love and support on Medium by just writing about my life. Do the same. Who knows what you can find?

Your life won’t always be perfect, but you can choose to fill your day with bliss. Happiness is a choice you can make now. Don’t leave it in the hands of the circumstances.

What do you do when things aren’t going well? Tell me in the comments.

--

--

Marcela Cardoso
Good Vibes Club

✨I write personal stories and articles that bring positivity and growth to your life.✨