I Got On An Airplane For The First Time And Here’s What I Learned

A memorable experience

Samaria M
Good Vibes Club
2 min readNov 14, 2023

--

A photo I took on the plane

You guys, I accomplished something I always wanted to do when I was younger!

Thanks to my hubby of course.

My hubby and I took a little trip for my birthday back in August. He wanted me to experience something I haven’t experienced before. The experience was getting on an airplane for the first time. He bought the flights for us weeks before my birthday. Flight prices change time to time so it’s always smart to do it before hand.

The trip was only a few days. I was wondering what to pack at the time. I was nervous for the trip even though it was a short flight. The day to depart had finally came and we had an early flight so we woke up early. Personally, I like to get to wherever I need to go as early as possible. We got there on time which was great.

Going through security is quite frightening but it wasn’t that bad. We had a gut feeling our baggage was overweight or too wide to be an carry-on. We were right. Our baggage was just an inch big. We had to pay an extra fee which sucked. On the other hand, we just paid and left our luggage with the workers to put under the plane.

It’s now time to board the plane. Walking onto the plane was an experience along with looking for our seat. Of course, I had to get the window seat. All I had going on in my head was how high the plane was going to go. There was a delay while waiting luckily I have some patience. The anxiety was rising though. Finally, they announced that we will be taking off.

As the plane was moving to takeoff, I did not know it would be that fast. We then got into the air and I felt as if I was on a ride at the fair. There was some turbulence going on for about 20 seconds. I was worried because it felt like the plane was slightly shaking. There was some gray clouds though. We then passed them and was flying above mountains which was cool. The views of the sky was beautiful.

We finally had landed to our destination. I was happy to have got this experience. Time to get off the plane and look for our luggage. We found it, headed to get an Uber and go to our hotel.

What did I learn taking this trip?

  • Stepping out your comfort zone is fun.
  • Go out and experience something you haven’t before.
  • Life is precious.
  • I actually enjoy flying.
  • The memories we created will stick with me forever

--

--