I spent 15 months in a purposeless job. Here is how I found meaning in my work.

Marcela Cardoso
Good Vibes Club
Published in
2 min readMar 7, 2024
Photo by Anete Lūsiņa on Unsplash

I spent 15 months in a job that had no purpose.

I worked for a top-notch global educational company.

I’d start my mornings with a bad attitude because:

  • My job lacked purpose for me.
  • I worked tirelessly for hours for barely any pay.
  • The company didn’t value or prioritize its employees.

It was like living through hell.

My outlook shifted when I started seeing meaning in my work.

If you’re in a similar situation, here are some tips that might help:

Align Tasks with Values

Can you imagine how awful it would be to do something that doesn’t align with your values?

It would suck, right?

That’s why knowing your values and making sure your tasks reflect them is fundamental.

When your work aligns with your beliefs, it feels more meaningful.

Photo by Corinne Kutz on Unsplash

Embrace Growth Opportunities

Facing challenges in your work?

That’s an awesome sign.

Many people run away from challenges, but the truth is, they’re valuable growth opportunities.

Instead of avoiding difficulties, use them to expand your skill set and knowledge base.

Cultivate Meaningful Connections

Investing time in your work friendships and client connections can bring several benefits, such as greater job satisfaction and opportunities to advance in your career.

When you create a significant connection, you cultivate a sense of belonging that makes your work more purposeful.

Celebrate Milestones

Do you take time to celebrate your wins?

Maybe you can think of your achievements as insignificant, but they can raise your confidence and help you get closer to your goal. It shows you’re on the right path.

If you want to find purpose in your work, open yourself to new experiences and different perspectives.

You may not realize it now, but your contribution is essential.

Your efforts make a difference.

--

--

Marcela Cardoso
Good Vibes Club

✨I write personal stories and articles that bring positivity and growth to your life.✨