Book Review | Emotion | Relationship

In Five Years by Rebecca Serle

An emotional concoction of friendship, love and loyalty

Sarah Cummins
Good Vibes Club

--

Rebecca Serle holding her book-In Five Years
Image by Rebecca Serle

We are talking about ‘In Five Years’ by Rebecca Serle. I don’t know what to say about this book, I don’t know how to start this book except to say I gave this book five stars.

Because of the impact that it had overall and at the end. I’m getting emotional just thinking about it too. This book is about friendship, love and loyalty. Okay! The premise of this book — I should tell you that first the premise of this book is the main character has an interview for a law firm where she’s always wanted to work. She ends up getting engaged to her boyfriend and that night they settle in, and she falls asleep on the couch.

She has a dream about herself in five years. It’s only for a little while about an hour and you see the entire scene play out and then she realizes that in that time, she’s in a completely different apartment and a completely different guy with her. She wakes up not really understanding why she’s not with her fiancé anymore and she’s not in the same apartment anymore.

She doesn’t understand how she gets there. So fast-forward like four and a half years into the future and she sees the guy that she saw in the dream, but he’s dating her best friend.

She’s been her best friend for like twenty-five years. So, I guess this best friend didn’t really settle down but she’s very serious about this guy and so you read this book trying to figure out how she gets from one point in her life to the other.

A love triangle
Image by freepik

I figured through the book what was going to happen. I really loved books about friendship because I really value what friendship is and what we should be to each other,

So, I read this book and I got to the end despite a migraine, and I was like yep that’s how I thought it was going to end but the last chapter blew me away to the point where I wished I was crying because it did it.

And the way I thought it was going to end, I see I still get like teary-eyed. I don’t know if I’ll read it again and I want to, but I don’t know if I will because this book… it’s just so special and it’s just so meaningful. I think so.

It is meaningful to me because of what happens to the best friend and I’m not going to tell you what that. So yeah, put your stuff down below to let me know what you think if this seems like it would be a book that you would want to read. Let me know.

Thanks for reading. 😊

--

--

Sarah Cummins
Good Vibes Club

💛Spreading knowledge, joy, positivity and happiness. Let's explore stories, ideas and concepts together!💛