The Budding Optimist

Learning to Cry

Is it possible, teach oneself to let go, to cry?

Anthony Krut
Good Vibes Club
Published in
2 min readJan 21, 2023

--

Is it just me, or did most of the search tilt steeply toward women? It does seem that women are more capable of allowing their feelings to manifest, be released in the form of tears. One I’d met told me she performs two such releases a year, watches movies to get in the right frame of mind. I’ve no idea if women cry easier than men, it sure is something that I’ve absorbed, always understood to be the case.

I’m envious of those able to ‘let-it-all-out’. I truly cannot recall the last time I did, not even sure anymore if I was ever able, short of being a kid wailing to get whatever it thought it needed. I do get teary-eyed, those fuckers making commercials are good, know where to hit. (will save that for another article). Music too will get to me, it has the power.

I know that this is something I very much want, maybe too much. On occasion, I feel I’m getting closer, not there yet. What is it holding me back, embarrassment, fear of not ‘manning-up’, something I’m not aware of?

I’m convinced there are myriad benefits to be had when purging, tons of evidence pointing to it. The bridge, allowing men to access their other side, their feminine, appears to be finding the end-points, forming. Similar to many movements of our time stigmas, misplaced guilt, societal small-mindedness, being cast aside, making way, allowing humanity to progress.

Given this, I’m seeing a way forward. Once the scales tip, when I’m able to acknowledge the cost-benefit, I fully expect I’ll be pouring buckets, I pity the fool in the front row.

--

--

Anthony Krut
Good Vibes Club

My way of getting words on paper. Not too much editing, just thoughts, feelings, anything that strikes on the day. Images are mine, mostly.