My journey of self-discovery from being judged to being confident

Kajal Kamani
Good Vibes Club
Published in
2 min readFeb 22, 2024

Story of my life since I could remember & I’m still learning how not to feel the same way.

A photo by Nik from Unsplash

Picture this: a bubbly, fun-loving kid who's the life of the family party but turns into a nervous wreck around new friends or potential crushes.

That was me. I was always worried about what others would think, so I missed out on a lot of typical teenage antics like hanging out with friends or sneaking out from classes or smoking or drinking.

When all my friends were living their dream life enjoying all the stuff, here I was stuck with my own insecurities and doing rounds of home to college and vice-versa.

In short, I was just a punctured tyre.

Even when I started working at big companies like Amazon and Deloitte, it took me a while to break out of my shell.

But as I found success in my career and as time passed by, I began to gain confidence. Still, I held onto my old-school values, which sometimes caused friction with others.

I finally started making friends, getting open and close with them, enjoying with them, showing them how fun-loving I was.

Eventually, I realized that I didn't need everyone's approval to be happy.

I learned to accept myself, flaws and all, and stopped worrying about what others thought.

What changed??

Well, I’m assuming that taking a step ahead and meeting new people, understanding their thought processes, letting go of my fears and most importantly, being financially independent gave birth to these changes in me.

Sure, I still stick to my principles, but I no longer impose them on others. Instead, I lead by example and offer guidance when needed.

Nowadays, I find strength in staying true to myself, even if it means going against the crowd. And you know what? It feels pretty great.

To end it on a good note:

It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not." - André Gide

--

--

Kajal Kamani
Good Vibes Club

I love reading life stories. I either like to relate myself with the story or save it as an inspiration for later. Writer | Learner.