Pull Up a Chair and Sit Awhile

Welcome to our campsite

Julia A. Keirns
Good Vibes Club

--

Photo by author.

Welcome to our campsite, and welcome to the month of May.

Rich and I always have extra lawn chairs sitting around our camper. This is a way to tell other people that we have room for them to sit and visit and stay awhile.

I always feel awkward when we stop and talk to people as we walk around the campgrounds and there is no place to sit and visit with them. It’s almost like they don’t want visitors. Or at least they don’t want visitors to stay for very long.

I know that isn’t true, but I have always felt that an empty chair is a way to show people that you have room for them. I think it makes them feel welcome.

Photo by author.

I like my yard flags. This one actually says “Welcome to our campsite.”

I want my “home” to be a place that welcomes strangers. After all, there are no strangers in life, only friends we haven’t met yet.

Photo by author.

--

--

Julia A. Keirns
Good Vibes Club

Currently living in an RV full time and traveling across North America. The goal is simply to write about it. Editor of Fiction Shorts, the Challenged, and ROD.