The 18 Summers List and Making Happy Childhood Memories

How can I make the most of the time I have with my children?

Gian Toledanes
Good Vibes Club
5 min readSep 21, 2023

--

Photo by Paula Guerreiro on Unsplash

I became a parent in the final year of my pediatric residency with the birth of my son. When I first held him, I dreamt of all the things we would do, places we would see, and milestones we would celebrate.

Reality set in.

After residency training, I sought to build my medical career. I joined a hospital pediatrician group at a large academic medical center. My work schedule rotated through daytime and overnight hospital shifts and included holidays. Initially, it did not affect my family. My son was too young to realize my absence.

As he grew older, it became clear that my son and I did not have the relationship that I planned for that day in the hospital. My son favored his mother who spent most of the time with him. At my wife’s suggestion, I spent time alone with him by taking him to parks and museums. After one challenging daytrip, I remember opining to my wife that my son did not seem to like me or enjoy my company. I felt my absences played a part in my struggle to connect with my son. Yet, it also became evident that the times I spent with him also needed serious work.

A few years later, our family grew. My two daughters, now ages 5 and 2 years old, joined my son, now 8 years old. We moved back to my wife’s hometown of Houston, Texas. The proximity to family, friends, and the familiar environment provided stability. I took a new position with another pediatric group and found the schedule to be more family friendly. The increase in time allowed for more opportunities to be present with my children at home.

Soon my children engaged themselves in activities. My son joined cub scouts. My eldest daughter jumped into tumbling and dance. My youngest daughter, we enrolled in swimming. The flurry of activities keeps our home busy every week. My wife and I also volunteered our time at their elementary school. The busyness of the household began to overwhelm me. I again felt the pang of that long ago dream.

Conflict and a Realization

This past summer, my son and I flew to Orlando for our first father and son trip. We swam at Cocoa Beach, visited Universal Studios, and played pirate miniature golf.

Overall, it was a great trip but one that was not free from conflict. My son complained about the long lines at Universal Studios. The late afternoon Florida rains threatened our one and only theme park day. My patience worn thin. The day culminated in a verbal tirade to my son as we waited in line. It was not my proudest moment.

I salvaged the trip, but I knew that I had caused my son distress. On our flight home, he rested his head on my lap. As his long legs curled in the cramped seats, I realized that my baby boy was growing up.

My son taking a short nap on our flight home

In Ryan Holiday’s Daily Dad podcast, he shared a piece of wisdom that struck me.

If we are lucky, we, as parents, have 18 summers to spend with our children.

By my own children’s counts, I have 10, 13, and 16 summers left with each of them, in turn. How do I as a parent make the time that I have left with them more memorable? How can I learn to appreciate the good times and learn and teach patience with the hard times?

The 18 Summers List

As I reflected on my questions, I began to play around with the idea of the bucket list. Bucket lists are a popular method of writing your dreams on paper. These are goals that you compile of all the places and events you want to experience before you “kick the bucket.”

In my case, I wanted to compile a list of experiences I wanted to share with my children before they became adults.

The idea evolved to become the 18 Summers List.

There were no specific rules for our list except one: at least one of my children had to be present in the experience. Some of the items are not currently age appropriate, especially for my 2-year-old. Even so, I still hope that they can participate as they are able. Interests may also change, which may lead to additions or eliminations of items.

The listed items varied in both scope and complexity. Some are as simple as going fishing or volunteering at a homeless shelter. Others need more thoughtful planning such as trips or publishing a book. As my children and I grow through our list, I intend to chronicle our experiences and lessons learned. Some of the items, we have already checked off and am excited to share.

And most especially, I hope that our list becomes a memoir for our family. One that they can look back on when they grow up.

The 18 Summers List (in no particular order)

1) Swim with dolphins

2) Drive a convertible

3) Surfing lessons

4) Stay in a tree house

5) Go on a mountain hike

6) Run a race (5k/10k/half or full marathon)

7) Ride an elephant

8) Travel to New York City

9) Travel to Paris and see the Eiffel tower

10) Travel to London and see Buckingham Palace

11) Travel to Japan and eat sushi

12) Travel to the Philippines (my childhood home)

13) Scuba dive or snorkel in a coral reef

14) Drive a high-end sports car

15) Attend a World Cup Game

16) Attend a World Series Game

17) Attend an NBA Finals Game

18) Attend a Super Bowl

19) Meet one of your heroes

20) Go fishing

21) Go camping

22) See a Broadway play

23) Learn and perform a dance together in public

24) Publish a book with the children

25) Attend an Olympic ceremony

26) Volunteer at a homeless shelter

27) Go on a television gameshow

28) Attend a ballet

29) Fly a kite on a windy day

30) Ride a train on a long journey

31) Get a new pet

32) Father/Daughter Dance

33) Mother/Son Dance

34) Road Trip Route 66

35) See Niagara Falls

36) Go on a safari

37) See the pyramids in Egypt

38) Walk part of the Great Wall of China

39) Shake a U.S. president’s hand

40) Hike a volcano

41) Go skiing or snowboarding

42) See the Amazon

43) Go to Disney World

44) Fly in a hot air balloon

45) Ride a real rollercoaster

46) See the Grand Canyon

47) Be in two places at the same time

48) Do something you were afraid to do

49) Plant a tree

50) Do something good for someone else when they least expect it

Photo by That's Her Business on Unsplash

--

--

Gian Toledanes
Good Vibes Club

Husband, Parent, Pediatrician. Adventure Seeker and Chronicler of the 18 Summers List