The Marshmallow Story

Phantom Scribe
Good Vibes Club
Published in
3 min readOct 22, 2023
Photo by Nik on Unsplash

It’s been only a few weeks since I started using these fancy skincare products. Every night, I diligently follow my skincare routine and stare at the scar on my cheek, hoping for a miraculous transformation by morning. However, every sunrise greets me with the same scar, still visible on my cheek. The doubts creep in. “Should I quit?” I ask myself. “Is this skincare even doing anything?” I wonder. “I shouldn’t waste my money when I can’t see any noticeable changes,” I argue. But somehow, I end up doing it every night anyway, giving the product the benefit of the doubt that it hasn’t been long enough for results to show.

Now, this article isn’t about my pimple or skincare routine, or even my obsession with the scar on my cheek. It’s about the idea of Delayed Gratification.

Let me explain.

In 1972, Walter Mischel conducted a study called “The Stanford Marshmallow Experiment” to explore the concept of delayed gratification. And how did they do this? They quite literally, used marshmallows.

Mischel and his team invited hundreds of children, aged 4 to 5 years, to participate in an experiment designed to test their ability to delay gratification. The experiment started by bringing each child into a private room and seating them in a chair. And placed before them was a solitary, tempting marshmallow, waiting to be devoured.

The researchers then made a deal with each child. The researcher told the child that they were going to leave the room. The deal was simple: if the child could resist eating the marshmallow while the researcher was away, they would be rewarded with a second marshmallow. However, if the child gave in and ate the first marshmallow before the researcher returned, they would not receive a second marshmallow as a reward. So, the choice was between one treat now or two treats later.

Photo extracted from FYP Money

As you may expect, the footage of the children waiting in the room was both humorous and entertaining. Some kids immediately pounced on the marshmallow as soon as the researcher left, while others squirmed and wiggled but managed to resist the temptation.

However, this wasn’t the end of the study. Over the years, follow-up studies were conducted to track the progress of these children. It was found that those who were willing to delay gratification and wait for the second marshmallow ended up doing significantly better in life. They achieved higher SAT scores, had lower levels of substance abuse, a lower likelihood of obesity, better responses to stress, and better social skills.

I didn’t start my pimple story for nothing, you see. Many times, we fail to realize the importance of trusting the process. People often expect instant results as it is more rewarding. In other words, keep doing what you’re doing, and don’t give up. Maintain your unwavering focus, steering clear of distractions and the transient gratification they offer.

You might find yourself pondering why it’s taking so long to see tangible results after hitting the gym just 1–2 months ago. You might be wondering why, despite pouring your heart and soul into your Medium articles, you’re not getting the views and recognition you expected. I can relate.

But amid these doubts and uncertainties, I hold onto my belief.

I believe that hard work pays off. I believe consistency is key. And I believe in my capabilities. Keep going even if you find no reason to, because someday or the other, it’ll all be worth the wait.

For those who are curious, you can access the video footage of a study conducted on the same experiment below.

--

--

Phantom Scribe
Good Vibes Club

I'm a student with a passion for words and stories. I'm excited to share my thoughts and ideas here! :)