The Pain of a Perfect Fit

Phantom Scribe
Good Vibes Club
Published in
2 min readJul 2, 2024
Photo by Imani Bahati on Unsplash

I’ve always desired many fancy things in life. However, I rarely asked my parents for anything, not wanting to burden them with my materialistic wishes. But this story isn’t about my parents or my yearning for material goods. It’s about a shoe. Not Cinderella’s glass slipper, but my Nike sneakers, which taught me more than I ever expected.

Almost two years ago, I acquired my first Nike sneakers. I practically begged my mum for them. When they finally arrived in the mail, I was ecstatic and couldn’t wait to wear them. I was excited to see how people would react to my cool new shoes. Initially, they felt a bit tight, but since they were my exact size, I assumed I just needed to break them in. I wore them everywhere. Soon, my feet began to bruise, and wearing them for just a few hours felt like hell. No one knew the pain I was in. The pain lingered for days after taking the shoes off, and the bruise on my toe lasted over a year. Finally, I made the harsh decision never to wear those shoes again.

You might think, “How silly! She should have checked the fit properly.” And you’re right. Size-wise, the shoes were perfect for my feet. But they still weren’t right for me.

This isn’t a story about picking the right shoe size. It’s about how a perfect-size shoe can still be wrong.

Sometimes, things look incredibly appealing from the outside. We crave what others have. But it wasn’t until the shoes started bruising my feet that I realized I had to let them go. We often endure pain to maintain a facade. We stay in harmful relationships, stick with jobs that do us no good, and make excuses for those who hurt us. We continue, despite the bruising.

Give up the shoe that bruises you. Find something that brings you comfort.

--

--

Phantom Scribe
Good Vibes Club

I'm a student with a passion for words and stories. I'm excited to share my thoughts and ideas here! :)