The Unmitigated Joy of Complaining

Brian Dickens Barrabee
Good Vibes Club
Published in
2 min readMay 19, 2024

--

Bitching about your partner can be therapeutic.

Credit Prawmy on Pixabay

Mostly I just tune her out when she gets off kvetching about her husband.

I see her point, but I don’t think she means a word of it.

I know the couple and they’ve been together for many years. The wife constantly complains about lack of verbal romance in their relationship.

I have no idea about the physical aspect of their union. They have three grown kids, five grandchildren and a greatgrand so there had to have been some family action going on in the past.

The wife’s most recent complaint is: when she tells her husband she loves him she reasonably expects an “I love you too,” in return.

The other night the aggrieved wife brought up the topic again.

This time we had the privacy of a chance to have one on one conversation.

I asked her if her husband made any comment when she proclaimed her undying love for him?

She he said nothing, silence, crickets.

I pressed on asking her if she pinned him down for an answer.

She brightened up a bit with some more negative news to report.

--

--

Brian Dickens Barrabee
Good Vibes Club

Very much involved with the world and likes nothing better than writing about its absurdities. Award winning author who guarantees a laugh or two a story.