There is no better person for me to date than myself

A love affair with myself

Marcela Cardoso
Good Vibes Club
3 min readJan 9, 2024

--

Photo by Lidya Nada on Unsplash

Have you ever tried to date yourself?

I know it may sound ridiculous, but hear me out. Think about the last dates you had. You dressed up and gave your best to make a good impression, and then what?

You got ghosted or had to deal with some kind of bullshit from your potential partner.

Let’s be honest: wouldn’t things be so much better if you put all this energy into loving and improving yourself?

I had this realization in 2017 while I was in a long-term relationship. It was amazing, a peaceful breeze in the ocean of troubled ones I had before. Nevertheless, at some point, I didn’t know who I was when I wasn’t devoting myself to my partner. I didn’t know how to feel comfortable in my skin. I didn’t know how to be happy on my own.

Then I did the unimaginable: I broke up with my boyfriend to date myself.

It was hard because I loved the guy, but I did what I needed to do. On one sunny Saturday, I got all dolled up and went to the mall. I watched a movie, spent countless hours in the bookstore, and ate an entire pizza alone (sorry, not sorry!). For the first time in a long time, I complimented myself and felt amazing. Happiness flooded through every fiber of my being just because I chose to put myself on the pedestal. I chose to unapologetic love and enjoy this phenomenal woman I am.

Eventually, I came back to my ex (and broke up with him again three years later), but I still date myself. Dating myself taught me I don’t need another person to validate me. I can be everything I want and need. My happiness depends on one person: me.

Cheesy Hollywood movies and catchy pop music usually sell the idea that you can’t find your happy ending if you don’t have your knight in shining armor. I’m not saying you can’t share your life with someone, but what if you appreciate your own company? What if you love yourself so much that you know you don’t need anyone to complete you?

Just throw all this bullshit in the bin. Do what brings you joy and find delight in your own company.

Dating yourself doesn’t need to be fancy. You can have fun with yourself by watching a Netflix movie or hiking the Himalayas. The most important thing is to appreciate the wonderful being you are. Is to reconnect with that incredible person who might have lost sight of their greatness.

Try to date yourself once. I promise you it’ll be worth it.

How are you going to date this amazing person you are? Tell me in the comments.

--

--

Marcela Cardoso
Good Vibes Club

✨I write personal stories and articles that bring positivity and growth to your life.✨