What Do You Do to Come Back to Your Senses?

Angela Treat Lyon
Good Vibes Club
Published in
6 min readJun 28, 2024

--

Do you ever start something and end up doing something completely and utterly radically different? I fought it, but that’s what happened today.

Fishies Galore

I started out tonight intending to write a story about a disastrous sailing adventure I had when I was 15.

Then I started thinking about how, in the past three or four weeks, people who have said they would meet me at an agreed-upon time either never showed or were an hour or more late (pet peeve!!!).

As I sat here trying to write the adventure, the being-late scenarios kept popping up.

So, I surrendered, and started writing about them, instead.

Why? Because to me, being late is a gross imposition.

My time is beyond precious — when people trod all over it, I get pretty pissed. I have a backlog of art aching to come out of me onto canvas, paper and iPad. It’s a struggle keeping up with it. Getting interrupted, and then having a no-show is infuriating.

Not one of the people who were late notified me they weren’t coming, or that they had glitches in their lives delaying them. Grrrrrrrr.

The first no-show I just shrugged off, thinking ah well, she just blew it by mistake, no biggie.

--

--

Angela Treat Lyon
Good Vibes Club

Writer, artist, stone carver, best-selling author, book designer & publisher, radical mindset coach, say-it-like-it-is person