You don’t need to do something extraordinary to find happiness.

Finding joy in the simple things

Marcela Cardoso
Good Vibes Club
2 min readJan 11, 2024

--

Photo by Catalin Pop on Unsplash

Let me ask a simple question: are you happy?

If your answer is no, I need to tell you a story. Grab the popcorn because this will be worth it.

Unhappiness was my loyal partner for most of my life. Being a bullied kid who never felt loved or wanted, I had to deal with my demons almost my whole life. I never felt good enough for myself or anybody. In my opinion, my mere existence was a mistake.

The years slipped away. I not only used to feel miserable but I was stuck. Even though I knew I needed to work with something related to writing, I didn’t know what exactly I should be doing for a living. Not to mention that I was living with my mom in my 20s/ early 30s because I barely had money to pay my bills.

Things took a turn when I got into journaling. Writing on paper became a safe way to sit with my thoughts and feelings without feeling judged or criticized. By expressing myself through words, I started being able to share my fears and insecurities, as well as my happy moments and blessings. I started to understand myself more and find solutions for my problems. I realized I could create a safe haven within myself.

The most important thing is, I learned that happiness is a choice we can make every day. It doesn’t depend on what we have or what we do. It’s always available for us, no matter how awful our circumstances are.

You don’t need to climb Everest or be the CEO of the company you work for to be happy. The world is full of people who have everything and can’t feel joy. Material things just bring a temporary sensation of happiness. If we aren’t happy with nothing, we won’t be happy with everything.

You can experience full happiness by tuning into your heart every day and finding reasons to be grateful. Can you breathe? Be grateful. Did you read a book you enjoyed? Be grateful. Were you able to pay your bills in full? Be grateful. This is the only way to experience the most pure form of happiness every single day.

Cultivating a sense of gratitude is something I need to remind myself often but I believe it makes you realize you don’t need a lot to be blissful. You just need to decide to embrace happiness. Happiness will find you without you even realizing it.

Will you choose to be happy now? Tell me in the comments.

--

--

Marcela Cardoso
Good Vibes Club

✨I write personal stories and articles that bring positivity and growth to your life.✨