Every Beginner Writer Must Read This!

7 tips from the Online Writing legend Nicholas Cole

Tuhin Patra
The Writer’s Way

--

Image generated by Dall E

Nicolas Cole is one of the most viewed writers on the internet, with his work accumulating millions of views. He is the author of the bestseller: The Art and Business of Online Writing.

I’ve spent the last two days listening to his podcasts, reading his book, and taking notes. Here are the 7 most powerful tips I came across.

Tip #1: Don’t start with a blog

Ouch! I bet you didn’t expect that. Neither did I. But, I think it makes a lot of sense.

The problem with starting your online writing journey with your own blog is that even before you get to write, you have to figure out a bunch of stuff like the domain name, the host, the content management system, the theme, the colour scheme, the layouts, the fonts, the logo, etc., which drain energy.

Let’s say you have figured all these out, created a blog, and have written your first article.

Who’s going to read it? If you are new to online writing, you don’t have an audience. How will you attract your first readers?

The only people who know about your blog is your mom and your dog. You have no mechanism to

--

--

Tuhin Patra
The Writer’s Way

Quit my 9 to 5 to reinvent myself. Girl dad. Love talking about Psychology, and Personal development. Read my newsletter: https://www.revivalbytes.com/