Writer’s Journal

Cognitive Restructuring

Here’s how you can stop overthinking.

Beenish Fatima
The Writer’s Way

--

Photo by Sage Friedman on Unsplash

I’ve always been a really sentimental person and this leads me to overthink a lot. Overthinking has taken a serious toll on my mental health. But I recently learned a technique to stop the nagging thoughts that are affecting my well-being.

Cognitive restructuring involves three C’s and is meant to improve one’s mental well-being. It brings an end to the thoughts which affect one’s mood and health. Here’s its breakdown:

1) Catch it: the first step involves the catching of a particular thought. This mostly happens to those who overthink a lot. For example, you’re sitting among your friends or loved ones, having an amazing time, and a thought ruins that moment all of a sudden.

2) Check it: The next step is about the verification of that particular thought, whether it’s something really out there which is disturbing you or your mind is just messing up with you. You have to make a distinction between fact and opinion. In other words, check if it is this thought linked to something that actually happened, or if it is just your assumption about that thing.

3) Change it: This is the final step. If you realise that everything is alright at this moment and your mind is just playing with you, then tell yourself that you’re totally fine; you’re loved and cared for; you’re unique and beautiful; and that you’ve got this. But if it is linked to something which is actually there and disturbing your life, then think of the alternative options you could use to tackle this situation.

For example, if you’re seeking a job and see no such opportunity, you could tell yourself, I’m doing the best I can and I’ll soon have this job. I have no control over the external factors but I’m in control of the way I respond to this crisis and I cannot let myself be mad about that which is not under my control.

If you practice this when something bothers you, it’ll definitely relieve your mood. Writing about such thoughts is a better way to tackle them.

--

--