Writer’s Life

Home is

My special place, my heart.

Constance Williams
The Writer’s Way
Published in
8 min readJul 2, 2024

--

Photo by Lea Böhm on Unsplash

The home has been considered a permanent place to find solace and privacy for centuries. A place where you are accepted and belong. A place where the family is Mom, Dad, Sister, Brother, grandparents. A place to come back to when things got rough.

Throughout my childhood, I lived in two homes with my family. We lived in a rental home until I was eight years old. That year, my parents purchased a new home in a subdivision. I lived in that home until I graduated from my undergraduate university. I moved to another state and got my first apartment. However, I still considered my parent’s house as my home.

My brother and sister who were younger than me were still living at home. When I went home for the holidays, it was like, I had never left. My sister and I still shared the bedroom that we shared since childhood. Everything seemed the same until it was time for me to go back to my new life.

Photo by Trust "Tru" Katsande on Unsplash

The 19th and 20th centuries saw a marked change in the traditional home. Children, including girls, were leaving home to tackle careers in other states throughout the United States. It was monumental for my…

--

--

Constance Williams
The Writer’s Way

Writing gives me the opportunity to empty my thoughts about life, people, culture, self-love, and the pursuit of a happy existence. I seek truth & humanity.