Writer’s Journal

How Did I End Up Here?

Built by Chance, Driven by Passion

Civilyze
The Writer’s Way

--

image by author
Made using Al tool ( https://trypromptly.com)

Was it only sheer luck — or what some might call a fortunate accident — that led me to this field? This was the first thought that captured my mind when I first saw my college I’d card. Degrading a whole class of engineers all my life, I stood in front of the registration desk of Malviya Nation Institute of Technology for my admission into B.tech .

The dream of studying physics and becoming a physicist slipped into the misty realm of forgotten fantasies. But how it all happened in the first place. The answer to this might be stupid and funny. Today, I stand here as a civil engineering student just because I forgot to withdraw my seat from JOSAA counseling. It gave me time to think about the career options in the branch till the CSAB application was open.

In those days, I saw a world full of excitement and curiosity. Talking to every possible person in the field that I could connect with. But what amused me was the people’s reaction to telling them that I am considering civil engineering as a career option, as if it’s a job reserved for men. Discovering a spark and hoping to make big in this branch, I decided to take a bet on this.

Initially skeptical of my decision but trusting destiny, I turned to the next chapter. My life felt like a Bollywood movie where I’d accidentally taken the wrong train but ended up on a journey I never expected. My early days were filled with basic concepts and foundational courses, which, while interesting, didn’t set my heart racing. But everything changed when I stumbled upon the marvels of ancient engineering.

Imagine this: an ancient temple carved from a single rock, standing tall and majestic for over a thousand years. The sheer scale, precision, and artistry involved blew my mind. This wasn’t just engineering; this was magic. I was in awe of the ingenuity and skill of those ancient engineers who, without modern tools or technology, created such a marvel. That’s when the spark was lit.

Made using Al tool ( https://trypromptly.com)

I was drawn to the world of structural engineering; everything from the trusses to bridges captivated my mind. But it didn’t end there. The more I learned, the more I realized how critical civil engineers are to our everyday lives. Every new topic I explored within civil engineering drew me in further. Whether it was transportation engineering, environmental engineering, or geotechnical engineering, I found myself constantly amazed by the breadth and depth of this field.

Civil engineering has been more than just a bunch of courses. Whenever I saw a bridge, skyscraper, or water treatment plant, I was reminded of why I chose this path. I wanted to be a part of something bigger, something that impacts lives and builds futures.

This realization motivated me to start writing about civil engineering. I wanted to share my journey, discoveries, and passion with others. I wanted to help people see and feel the same way I do about this incredible field. Writing became a way for me to articulate my awe and admiration for civil engineering, inspire others, and shed light on the vital role civil engineers play in shaping our world.

--

--

Civilyze
The Writer’s Way

Join us on a journey through the fascinating world of civil engineering