Writer’s Life

Pregnancy Cravings in Kabul: Hummus Over Hormones: A Poem.

A Finance Officer’s Poetic Tale of Motherhood

Silper Pesa
The Writer’s Way

--

Photo by Negative Space on Pexels

In the heart of Kabul, where roads twist and turn,

I started my job, a journey that would continue to unfold.

As a Finance Officer moving from one place to another,

I found out I was going to be a mother.

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio on Pexels

Surprised by pregnancy in such a dusty, tough place,

It felt like linking my future with an ancient space.

The local food, heavy, oil-rich and different,

Made my mornings hard and nauseous.

Yet, a Lebanese restaurant became my cozy corner,

Where the flavors comforted my every look.

Photo by Vanessa Loring on Pexels

Pregnancy Cravings: Hummus Over Hormones,

A lighthearted look as my belly zoned,

In Kabul, hummus beat the morning sickness meds,

A creamy spread to soothe the pregnancy dreads.

Photo by Kübra Doğu on Pexels

John Lennon said, “Life is what happens,” it’s true,

As I walked the markets, feeling both old and new.

Danger lingered in Kabul’s streets,

Echoes of soldiers and their steady boots.

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels

A bomb once exploded, breaking the peace,

We were lucky to escape it, our fears briefly ceased.

Winston Churchill might have called it a thrilling escape,

From dangers that could have taken any shape,

With tattered clothes and nails all that was left,

Sarroundingdry tree branches with not a single leaf,

As the sun settled down and the calmness returned.

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels

Every so often, I’d escape to Dubai,

A break from the chaos, a sigh of relief under the sky.

These breaks were like quiet poems in the night,

Bringing me calm, making the hard times light.

Photo by Element5 Digital on Pexels

Inside me, a little traveler was coming to life,

Unaware of the outside world’s strife.

Through every challenge and fear,

We found joy in each moment, every tear.

Pexels Jill Wellington’s image of joy

Marcus Aurelius said, “Adventure is worthwhile,”

Even under a sun that seemed both harsh and mild.

This journey weaved from daring deeds,

Will teach her to face life’s needs.

In every small challenge and every dark night,

There’s a chance to find light.

She was Kabulian for 5 Months — Image by Author

Golden turned 17 years old in April 2024.

--

--

Silper Pesa
The Writer’s Way

Silper is a certified coach, mentor, and writer with a passion for humanitarian work. I spend my free time capturing stories from my experience.