Writer’s Journal

The Freedom of Being Me

Finding fulfillment in being different

Beenishfatima
The Writer’s Way

--

Photo by J Meza Photography on Unsplash

I always feel a sense of alienation when surrounded by people (except for those to whom I'm emotionally and intellectually attached). Crowds, gatherings, and noisy places have always drained my energy. I used to believe that I was not normal because I couldn't really interact with people, and others might think that perhaps I'm arrogant as I don't interact with them.

But now I've reached a point where I realize that I need to be grateful for having been blessed with those who understand this personality of mine, who don't judge me for the way I am, and who make me realize that this is my authentic self, and I shouldn't be embarrassed about being this way.

I have a certain personality and certain traits which make me "me". These traits define me, and I wouldn't be myself without them. They make me unique in my own way and I should love myself for being like this.

We're all different and unique in some way or another. And just because we don't conform to societal expectations of being a certain way does not mean that we're not normal. My "normal" can be different from yours, and vice versa, but it's totally okay as long as we don't hurt each other.

The day you realize your own worth, you stop looking for other’s approval or validation. You understand that there are a lot of people in this world and you’ll not be good enough for every single one of them. You finally express gratitude for having been blessed with people who always see the good in you, appreciate you for things that others don’t notice, and stand by your side especially when you’re at your worst.

This is the time when you realize that it’s not your responsibility to satisfy everyone. Not everyone has the eyes to see the best in you. So, give importance to only those people’s opinions who are important to you, who always want the best for you. Not everyone deserves your time and energy.

--

--