The 74 year old man who walks 20K Every Day

Samet Faruque
The Good Farmer
Published in
3 min readSep 28, 2021

“Just take it easy and keep repeating Quranic Verses as you go. Quietly!”

Ustad Abdul Waheed

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَٰنِ الرَّحِيمِ
In the name of the Most Compassionate, the Most Merciful Allah

🌸 Alhamdulillah, praise be to Allah, who gives the gift of good health, wellbeing, safety and faith.

🌸 Sincerity is due to Him, and pure intentions, and good words, and lofty praise.

حُنَفَاءَ لِلَّهِ غَيْرَ مُشْرِكِينَ بِه

Inclining [only] to Allah , not associating [anything] with Him. (22:31)

لَا شَرِيكَ لَهُ ۖ وَبِذَٰلِكَ أُمِرْتُ وَأَنَا أَوَّلُ الْمُسْلِمِينَ

No partner has He. And with that I have been commanded, and I am the first [among you] of the Muslims. (6:163)

يَا بُنَيَّ لَا تُشْرِكْ بِاللَّهِ ۖ إِنَّ الشِّرْكَ لَظُلْمٌ عَظِيمٌ

O my son, do not associate [anything] with Allah . Indeed, association [with him] is great injustice. (31:13)

💡Humans operate on paradigms. Paradigms are how you see things.

🔁For example, “daily jogging” can be seen in very different paradigms.

🤲🏻Abdullah sees it as worship, a way of drawing near to Allah, a way of keeping himself fit to serve his Lord.

He sees it as a way of looking good for his spouse, a time he can listen to beneficial lectures, a time he can reflect on Allah’s creation and nature and way to refresh his mind for doing good. He sees it as a fitness preparation for self defense and just military combat, if the need ever arises.

⌚Anas sees it as a waste of time, that the time will be better spent in his business, as a spoiled first world activity and something exclusively for over-weight people.

Umar Ibn Khattab reported that he heard the Messenger of Allah ﷺ saying:

إِنَّمَا الْأَعْمَالُ بِالنِّيَّاتِ

Actions are but by intentions. (Bukhari, 1)

Paradigms and intentions are related.

💖 I want to share 2 stories that inspire me. One is the story of an old uncle, taking part in a running challenge of a mosque I visit. The challenge is month long, and the uncle says:

“I am pushing to at the least have 20 Ks each day…At my age it can be quite daunting. But I am only a 74 plus year young.”

And he says:

“Just take it easy and keep repeating Quranic Verses as you go. Quietly!”

I am not in a position to advice the uncle if this is good or bad for him health wise. May Allah bless this uncle and increase him in good!

What I personally take is the inspiration and motivation. If he can walk 20 Ks every day at the age of 74, you o myself, can walk half of it!

💡 Another inspiration for me is Gavin van Tonder, Head of Water sector in Neom, Saudi Arabia. He says (video link):

“So I get up at 4:50 every morning. I run 10 Kms because I need to stay healthy and it gives me an opportunity to think. I’m an early morning guy.”

The quotes from these two individuals inspire me, and I hope they inspire you too.

And peace be upon you.

--

--

Samet Faruque
The Good Farmer

A teacher, Imam, Engineering graduate, writer, Qur'an tutor, and more :) Welcome to my page.