Journaling as a Tool for New Moms

Marie Tiratira
GoodnightJournal
Published in
3 min readJan 15, 2021

As a new mom, I tend to be a bit of an Obsessive Compulsive in anything and everything regarding my child. I used to type it in my notes so that I can keep track. However I found a better way to track it through the Goodnight Journal.

It is such a useful tool since you can keep your thoughts and logs organize through the Books function wherein you can keep track of all your journals related to your child. You can choose to either make your journal private so that only you can see the progress of your child and keep your privacy. You can also make your journal public so that it can be seen by the community and other fellow moms can give you tips or share their own experiences Here are the journals I constantly update regarding my child.

1. Breast Feeding Journal

I keep a journal of what time and how long he feeds. We are exclusively breastfeeding. I take note which breast he last fed in. It is important that he is able to drink long enough in each breast since there are two types of milk. The fore milk is more watery but is not as nutrient filled. Once your baby has already drank long enough, your body will now produce the hind milk which is the one that has more nutrients and can keep baby full. I also put in the journal if my baby fed from the left or right breast since I want to make sure both breasts are emptied since if not sometimes a full breast left for a long time can lead to mastitis.

2. Urine and Poop Journal

I also take note of my baby’s output to make sure he is healthy. I take note of the color, quantity, smell, consistency, and frequency. Honestly, when I was single I thought this is gross but now as a mom. I constantly check since it is an indication of health. A dark urine means he is not getting enough milk. Less frequent poop may mean he is constipated. As gross as it sounds, I even keep photos since I would need to show our pediatrician if something is out of the ordinary.

3. Food journal

Just like in my breast feeding journal, I also take note of the food he starts to eat. I also put in the journal if he likes it or not and if there are any allergic reactions. I also take note of the quantity and frequency of the food he eats. I also take pictures of his food and his reactions. I will never forget the first time he ate an orange, he was super cute and funny since he cannot seem to decide if he likes it or not.

4. Milestones Journal

Of course I also keep a milestones journal. I want to remember the first time he smiled, laughed, ate solid food, drank water, stood up, walked, and talked. It is also good to see how his progress compared to the normal population. Sometimes, it can be scary when I realize he is begins in some milestones like talking but every child us unique and develops at his own phase. As long as he is healthy that is all that matters.

At the end of the day, these journals will also help keep your baby’s childhood immortalized since as they say children grow up so fast. The next thing you know they are not so dependent on you and are off to college. These journals can also remind you of the good old days when your child was a baby.

Write Journal Online

Write unlimited private journals for free!

Goodnight Journal is the only personal journal app that offers modern design that works the same on any device, with the community and features to boost your mental health.

--

--