My Immigration process and how journaling help me

Stephany Carrillo
GoodnightJournal
Published in
3 min readMay 30, 2021

Two years ago, I took the most difficult decision in my life until that moment. After living seven days without electricity I decided to leave my country and start a new life.

The real meaning of belong

At the beginning, when I made the decision I only wanted to cry so hard, I didn’t want to leave my house, my father, my family, my friends and all that I knew, the place where I grew up in and where I feel that I belong to.

For me, “belong” was the most difficult part. I arrived at my new home on a Wednesday evening. It was raining and I was seeing everything in slow motion. I felt so strange, it’s a unique feeling that I haven’t experienced before because when you’re on a trip it’s all excitement and unknown but this time was different. I felt uncomfortable, I only wanted to cry and go back home.

The first few days, I went to some different places to get to know the city, I went to supermarkets, malls, parks, etc. You could say “Oh, it was a nice beginning” but in fact, I felt sad, it was a bitter sweet experience.

The need to share my feelings

Feeling that way and looking for a new job in a new city, living for the very first time with another person as a couple it was the perfect combination for me to feel overwhelmed so I started to look for a way to express my feelings. Because when you’re away you don’t want to worry your relatives with things that seem not important.

Some days, I took notes on the regular app note in my phone, only phrases or maybe the way I feel at that moment. It was a very spontaneous process and I didn’t think that I could share those notes with complete strangers. So I started to look for more information about journaling, the benefits of doing it and some good apps for it and that’s how I found Goodnight Journal.

Goodnight Journal came to my life

At the beginning, I wrote about very common and superficial things, like how was my day or maybe a phrase or upload a picture but then when I received a feedback or a nice comment for the community, it was like magic. I’ve talked about my anxiety problem, how sad I feel for any kind of problem, my insecurity about my body, about love, everything.

For me, it’s a nice way to finish my day and I can see that Goodnight Journal has built a great and supportive community. When I see my past entries, right now I realize how much I’ve learned, how much I’ve grown and how much the journaling has helped me to be a better person, for me and for others.

Write unlimited private journals for free!

Goodnight Journal is the only personal journal app that offers modern design that works the same on any device, with the community and features to boost your mental health.

--

--