$100 Jordan 2

Jeffrey Alan Henderson
GoodThin.gs

--

When the Air Jordan 1 released I was in the 7th grade. I was still obsessed with comic books and science fiction movies. The quiet nerd had yet discover the outside world and the evolution that was happening with the rest of my friends and classmates.

While I was headed to the comic book store to grab the latest edition of Marvel’s Secret Wars, the other Jeffrey in my class had gone to Foot Locker to get the new Nike signature release.

When school started everyone huddled around the other Jeffrey to gawk at his shoes.

I thought they were cool but I didn’t really comprehend what was so fascinating about them.

They were just shoes.

But the evolution of middle school and social constructs meant that those shoes had importance. The other Jeffrey had unlocked a social currency that grew in value.

All of the boys and maybe a few of the girls wanted Air Jordan’s.

The Look

By the time the bug infected me there were no more Air Jordan’s to be bought. Besides, they were $64.99 and that was truly out of the question. I could buy 40 comic books for that much money.

But the next best thing conveniently arrived on the shelves of the Foot Locker.

--

--

Jeffrey Alan Henderson
GoodThin.gs

Founder of And Them Creative Consultancy. Focused on design, inclusion, sponsorship and community. And sneakers.