The Neighbourhood Dog

That’s not trained for obedience

Vytautas Ratkevičius
Goofy PoeTree

--

Photo by author

Every morning I hear,
“Dibley, Dibley, come here!”
It’s the voice of my neighbour
calling dog to appear.

This dog acts as if
hears not sound of her voice
or as if it forgot
what the name it’s been given.

I saw it one day
with my very own eyes
this strange
yet quite a funny occurrence.

The dog found some friends
other neighbourhood dogs
to hang-out through the night
until morning approaches.

I would say it’s okay
to be calling your pets
if the hour
would be not so odd one.

Sometimes I’m breathing in deep
fresh and cool early air
with the warming black tea
and the mind full of quiet.

All of a sudden I get
wake-up call from beneath
of an owner whose dog
keeps the distance!

--

--

Vytautas Ratkevičius
Goofy PoeTree

Digital writer aiming to inspire and empower you to live more puposeful life.