Cloud Storage: my static page online in 1 single command

Val Deleplace
Google Cloud - Community
1 min readNov 6, 2017

Here it is:

gsutil cp -r -a public-read page/* gs://my-quick-page/

Done! My little HTML website is now online at https://storage.googleapis.com/my-quick-page/index.html . Try the link!

That is really convenient, provided these prerequisites are satisfied:

  • I have an HTML page on my local machine ;
  • I am a Google Cloud Storage customer, which means I have enabled billing (or the “free trial”) in my Google Cloud Platform account ;
  • I have installed and initialized the Cloud SDK, which includes gsutil ;
  • I already have a bucket named “my-quick-page”. If not, I create it with :
gsutil mb gs://my-quick-page

The website for this example has the following structure on my local drive:

page/index.html
page/css/main.css
page/img/pear.png
page/img/favicon.png

The URL is quite long and uses a GCS domain, not my custom domain. The nice part about it is that my website is automatically secure (HTTPS) thanks to the *.storage.googleapis.com certificate.

Go to the gsutil cp documentation and Hosting a Static Website to know about a myriad of options to better fit your needs, e.g. to use your custom domain name.

--

--

Val Deleplace
Google Cloud - Community

Engineer on cloudy things @Google. Opinions my own. Twitter @val_deleplace