Core values of a GDE

Gerardo Lopez Falcón
Google Developer Experts
2 min readApr 9, 2021

I have received a lot of questions about how to become a GDE. Most people think that it is a job, you get money, you’re a rock star, but we know that all of those things are not true. My answer to the questions is another question: “How are you impacting your community?” I get some answers such as:

  • I want to travel
  • I want to improve my brand
  • I have hundreds of certifications so I think that “I’m an expert”.
  • I …….
  • More “I + verb”

Of course, there is not a bad or good answer, but the mission of a GDE isn’t to think only in “I”, the mindset might be “we/our/ours”. Yes, I got it; a GDE might improve communities, people; go beyond to speak in conferences or publish a blog post, a GDE is always thinking about how to add value, how to innovate, how to become an “enabler” every day in his/her environment.

Improving a community can take a lot of time and hard work. But all the effort is truly worth it when you see the results. To better understand the importance of this work, as a GDE I want to explain some of the core values surrounding community development:

  • Excellence: We work every day to go above and beyond our own expectations.
  • Community: By promoting mutual trust and respect, we foster positive relationships with our colleagues and community.
  • Growth: We always find joy in discovering new ways to improve.
  • Balance: We deliver our best effort at work, keeping in mind that leisure, play, and fun are also important.
  • Integrity: We believe that virtuous, transparent, and responsible acts lead to positive retribution.
  • Hope — There’s no more important quality for community development than hope. Change starts with individuals, then it grows as we work together with hope for a better, more fruitful future.
  • Innovator: Sees the way things are and has the wisdom to know what to do about it. Has the compassion to stay with the problem and remains observant until there is a solution that will benefit the relationship or group.
  • Builder: Brings power that is action-oriented and brings results and at the same time it does not oppress others. It is the energy applied to make a positive difference and the faith in their ability to know what to do now and that they will know what to do next; this is their major strength and contribution.

--

--

Gerardo Lopez Falcón
Google Developer Experts

Google Developer Expert & Sr Software Engineer & DevOps &. Soccer Fan