The Google Experts Program: My Take

Stéphane Hamel, MBA, OMCP
Google Developer Experts
2 min readJun 20, 2016

--

The good news landed in my inbox late last week:

Congratulations! The Google Developer Relations team has reviewed your application to the Experts Program and we are pleased to invite you to join the 2015–2016 Experts Program as a Product Strategy/ Expert.

What is Google Developer Expert (GDE)?

Google Experts are a global network of experienced product strategists, designers, developers and marketing professionals actively fostering the growth of the industry.

They are recognized by their peers as outstanding professionals in product strategy, UX/UI, marketing, growth hacking and monetization, or considered top developers able to leverage Google technologies. They share their passion and experience in various ways and distinguish themselves through frequently speaking at conferences.

This milestone in my career positions me as one of the five Google Developer Experts for Google Analytics, and one of the few in the area of Product Strategy for digital marketing and data analysis.

How I Landed Here

In order to be recognized as a Google Developer Expert I had to build a case highlighting my past accomplishments and how my contributions would benefit Google and the industry at large going forward. I was lucky to have some of the Google Analytics and Google Tag Manager team members vouch for my application and several months later, after three interviews, I finally received the good news.

My Take

What does it mean for me? What does it mean for you?

I will work a little more closely with Google and other GDEs to share tutorials, samples and learning material — and more proof of concepts and interesting experiments. I hope it will also open new opportunities to speak at conferences worldwide and share my passion for digital strategies and analytics. An additional role for GDEs recognized for Product Strategy is to apply their knowledge and experience with startups — something I already do and enjoy very much.

Want to know more? Check out the Google Developer Experts or visit my site to learn about the three areas of expertise I can help you with:

  • developing realistic Digital Analytics Roadmaps;
  • working on advanced projects, R&D and proof of concepts;
  • and how I could help you through advisory & coaching services.

Image credit: pexels.com

--

--