How I Built a Thriving GDSC Chapter From Scratch

Vatsal Patel
Google for Developers EMEA
5 min readAug 9, 2023

“You don’t have to be great to start, but you have to start to be great.” — Zig Ziglar

This quote is so true! I remember when my co-lead Zeynep and I started our student community from scratch, we had no idea what we were doing. We had no experience building community or organizing events, but we were passionate about Google Developer Student Clubs and wanted to make a difference. So, my journey as Co-leads of GDSC PJATK began!

It wasn’t easy at first. We had to learn everything from scratch, and we made a lot of mistakes along the way. But we never gave up. We kept learning and growing, and eventually, we built a thriving community with over 200 members. We’ve organized 15+ events, and we’re even nominated for the Google IO Connect Amsterdam award!

If you’re thinking about starting a student community but you’re not sure where to start, don’t worry about being great at first. Just start, and you’ll learn as you go. You might be surprised at what you can achieve.

August was the month that changed it all! An email from our amazing community manager Angelika Zaucha brought news that sent my heart soaring — I was chosen as a Co-Lead! 🎉💖

But that’s not all! Before I even had a chance to catch my breath, an exciting invitation arrived: the Google Dev Community Summit! Talk about starting this journey!

My Adventure at the Google Dev Community Summit!

Imagine being surrounded by an electrifying atmosphere where the passion for technology runs wild and innovation knows no bounds. As I was selected as a Co-Lead, I was bestowed with the golden ticket to this extraordinary event, organized for all the amazing communities across Europe. That’s right — GDG, GDSC, GED, and WTM ambassadors all under one roof! 😍

The people I met during the summit were nothing short of incredible. Their stories, their passion, their drive — it was like a burst of inspiration that lit up the entire room. ✨💪

And let me tell you, those stories were pure gold! 🌟Every person I met had a tale of dedication, determination, and above all, the drive to make a difference in their respective communities. It was infectious, and I found myself brimming with ideas and enthusiasm to take my own community to new heights!

❤️GDSC Europ Family ❤️

it was an event of tech, friendship, and limitless possibilities. And guess what? I even got to meet GDSC mentors, my program manager Laura Cincera, and my incredible community manager Angelika Zaucha, who’s been an unwavering pillar of support. 🌟❤️

From one extraordinary moment to another, the summit turned into a treasure trove of experiences that I’ll cherish forever. It was the fuel that ignited my passion and kickstarted my journey as a GDSC Co-Lead.

“4 Awesome Tips as a Co-Lead to Rock Your GDSC Chapter!” 🌟🚀

1. Don’t compare yourself to other GDSC chapters. Be Your Own Champion! 🏆
I remember when we were the founders of the GDSC PJATK chapter. We had to start everything from scratch, and it took us 4 months to register our club at the university. During that time, I was comparing ourselves to other GDSC chapters and feeling bad that we hadn’t even started organizing any events yet. But now I realize that I was just overthinking things and that we should focus on our own journey. Remember that you are unique and that you have your own special gifts and talents. Focus on your own journey, and don’t worry about what others are doing!

2. Our secret sauce? The power of collaboration! 🤝
One of the things that makes our GDSC chapter unique is our collaboration with other communities. We’ve organized events with GDG Warsaw, GDSC Sensu from Tokyo and even organized a 2-day DevFest Warsaw conference.

Design hackathon with GDSC Senshu

Collaborating with other communities is a great way to learn from each other and to reach a wider audience.

”When we come together, we can achieve more than we ever could alone”-Malala Yousafzai.

So don’t be afraid to reach out to other communities and see if there are ways to collaborate😉.

3. Don’t be Shy, Just Ask Why! 🙋‍♀️

Zeynep, me, and our awesome mentor Kate, Angelika (My manager), and Laura (Program manager) — our strong pillars! ❤️

Don’t be afraid to ask for help. Everyone wants to see you succeed, so don’t be afraid to reach out for help when you need it. Work with your regional manager, mentors, and the awesome manager Angelika! Don’t be shy to ask for help; they’ve got your back! 🙌

4. Surround Yourself with a Dream Team! 🌈💖

❤️GDG Warsaw family ❤️

Lastly, I would like to say that it’s important to surround yourself with good people who will support you in your journey. I was so grateful for my co-lead Zynep and my GDG Warsaw family, who always supported me with everything.
So find your tribe and build a community around you. Together, you can achieve great things!🎉

As I finished my journey, I would say to be proud of your journey, collaborate like a pro, and surround yourself with the best of the best! Now go out there and rock the GDSC world! 🎉🚀

Who am I?
Got a burning question? Need some guidance? You know where to find me! Hit me up on LinkedIn or Twitter, and happy to share all my epic experiences! Let’s rock this GDSC journey together, blasting off to new heights! 🚀😃 Oh, and if you’re feeling extra adventurous, don’t forget to connect with my Co-lead, Zeynep, on her LinkedIn too! 🤝💕

Can’t wait to hear from you, Let’s geek out together! 🤓🔥

Don’t miss out on our epic events! Check out our GDSC PJATK Instagram page 🚀🌟

--

--