Imposter syndrome

A very common feeling among software developers, even those who are highly skilled and experienced. It can manifest in a variety of ways, such as:

Faye Mckeown
Google for Developers Europe
3 min readOct 9, 2023

--

❤️‍🩹Feeling like you don't deserve to be where you are
Believing that your success is due to luck or chance

❤️‍🩹Constantly worrying that you're going to be exposed as a fraud

❤️‍🩹Feeling like you're not good enough, even when you're performing well

Yes even after over 10 years! in the tech world I still very much get this. And it becomes even more challenging for me when I’ve burnt out.

Being a software developer and experiencing imposter syndrome, it is super important to know your NOT ALONE. We do need to talk about this more openly and honestly with each other. As scary as it is, if we were all open about this I always feel we’d be more successful in this industry.

So some tips I have found that helps me to cope. Like I said above its even harder for me to cope with this when I am burnt out. So these tips are for when I'm not burnt out.

✨️Talk to someone you trust:
I always find it helpful to talk to my friends or a trusted person about my feelings. They can offer support and help you to put things into perspective.

✨️FOCUS ON YOUR ACCOMPLISHMENTS:
I try and make a list of all the things I've accomplished in my career even the small stuff like learning a new technology to help someone. This can help you to remember you have the skills and experience necessary to be successful

✨️ CHALLENGE YOUR NEGATIVE THOUGHTS:
When you have negative thoughts about yourself, ** ask yourself if you have evidence to support this** if not try and **replace** it with a more realistic thought. I like to tell my closest friends and family when I'm having negative thoughts. Some of you on here have seen me do this. I do this to help me ground myself. I will talk about grounding soon!

✨️ CELEBRATE YOUR SUCCESSES:
When you do something well, take time to celebrate 🍾 your accomplishments! This really does help you build your self confidence and self belief.

Remember, imposter syndrome is a common feeling, and it doesn’t mean that you’re not a good software developer. If you’re struggling with imposter syndrome, there are things you can do to cope with it and move forward.

Here are some additional tips that may be helpful:

❤️Find a mentor or community. Having a mentor or community of other software developers can be a great way to get support and advice. They can also help you to feel less alone in your struggles.

❤️Set realistic goals for yourself. Don't try to be perfect at everything. Set realistic goals for yourself and focus on improving one thing at a time.

❤️Take breaks. It's important to take breaks from work to recharge and avoid burnout. When you're feeling overwhelmed, take some time for yourself to relax and de-stress.

❤️If you're struggling to cope with imposter syndrome on your own, please reach out to a mental health professional for help.

--

--

Faye Mckeown
Google for Developers Europe

GDC Champion 2023 Mobile developer AR and IOT WTM and GDG member Scotland Breaking the Silence on Mental Health as a developer 💪