WeAreDevelopers 2024

Ilias Papachristos
Google for Developers Europe
5 min readJul 23, 2024
Main Stage

The We Are Developers event is a conference focused on software development and technology. There are actually two main types of events they hold:

  • WeAreDevelopers World Congress: This is a large, in-person event that takes place annually. The most recent one just concluded, happening from July 17th to 19th, 2024 in Berlin, Germany. It focuses on bringing together developers and tech leaders from around the world to discuss trends and innovations.
  • WeAreDevelopers LIVE: This is a free virtual event series that offers tech talks, coding sessions, and workshops. These are held throughout the year and cover various software development topics [WeAreDevelopers].

Who it’s for:

  • Developers (front-end, back-end, mobile, etc.)
  • Software Architects
  • Tech decision-makers (CEOs, CTOs, etc.)
  • Anyone interested in the future of technology

For me, the We Are Developers was a whirlwind of inspiration and connections! I met so many amazing developers from all over the place. There were folks who’d been coding for years and newbies just getting started, but everyone was there to learn and share. I had some fantastic conversations with people about the latest advancements in tech and even got some great tips on how to improve my own skills.

The talks were incredible too! I learned so much about so many things and even got to chat with speakers afterwards, who were super down-to-earth and happy to answer my questions. Plus, I browsed the booths of some awesome tech companies and made some connections with recruiters who seemed really interested in what I had to offer.

But how did I get there in the first place? 🤔

As a Google Cloud Champion Innovator, I received an email from Google Cloud to submit my talks for the Google Cloud Booth during the event. I thought “Why not? It would be fun to go and talk at an event with 15K people” 😁

Some days later I got an email informing me that my talk had been accepted 🤩

WOW! The fun just began. I had to download the WeAreDevs mobile app, finalise my slides, send them to the team, book my air ticket, book a hotel… All the cool stuff!

And the day arrived. Travelled to Berlin. Found Vaios, a friend from Thessaloniki, our hometown.

Me and Vaios

Went for the pre-check-in at the hotel, had some beers, and chatted with people.

Bryden, Vaios and me

The next day woke up early to be on time for the keynote opening. Took the Bahn and followed the crowd. The train was full of Developers. When we arrived at that station and got off there were plenty of signs to follow to get to the event. You couldn’t miss it even if you tried 😂

What a Keynote opening! What a thrilling atmosphere during the event. Visited both buildings, talked to as many people and companies as possible and then went to the Google Cloud booth to prepare my laptop for the talk and chat with people.

Me and Dmitry

Being a speaker amongst such a powerhouse lineup of Google Cloud developers and Google Developer Experts (GDEs) was truly humbling. I had the chance to meet some of the speakers I’ve long admired, and they were all incredibly gracious and supportive. It was an absolute honour to share the stage with such talented minds, and I left the event feeling inspired and even more passionate about the Google Cloud community.

Abdel and me

The Google Cloud booth at We Are Developers was buzzing with excitement during my talk! I got to share a bit of my journey in the tech world with a lightning talk, and it was awesome to see so many folks nodding along and having a good time. Afterwards, I got to chat with a whole crew who were fired up by the talk – it was truly inspiring to hear their stories! 🥰

Unfortunately, I had to return home and didn’t make it for the second day. I also missed dinner with the whole team.

What A Team! 🚀

I would like to thank the Google Cloud team. A huge thank you to the entire team behind We Are Developers! While I had the pleasure of chatting with Maivien specifically, I know there’s a whole crew who tirelessly prepped for this incredible event. Everything ran so smoothly, and the chance to connect with so many talented folks wouldn’t have been possible without all your hard work.

Also, I would like to thank my “personal” photographer, and friend, Tomek.

Warming up — Stretching before the talk
Ready — Set — Go
Once upon a time
21 years ago 🥹
20 years ago 🥹

All in all, it was an amazing experience, and I’m already counting down the days until the next We Are Developers event!

--

--

Ilias Papachristos
Google for Developers Europe

Full-Time Family Man, Retired Military Helicopter Pilot, Kendo Instructor, Google Cloud Champion Innovator AI/ML, Lead GDG Cloud Thessaloniki, WTM Ambassador