Beauty is Fleeting

It doesn’t matter what you look like on the outside; it’s what’s on the inside that counts.

Eunike Ve
5 min readMar 15, 2023
Photo by Element5 Digital on Unsplash

How do you define beauty?

I came up with this question at first because I know that everyone has a different opinion about beauty, and it’s okay to know someone who has a different perspective from me.

Beauty is something that I believe every woman wants to be part of. Nobody wants to look ugly, fat, or skinny. They all want to look beautiful. Including me!

Yesterday, one of the kids that I am taking care of asked me a silly question, but it tickled my heart a bit and for the first time I realize that I will not stay young forever. I will look older as time goes by.

And this is how our conversation begins:

Kid : “ Cece, how old are you this year?”

Me : “ I’m going to turn 39 if I’m not mistaken “

Kid : “ Whoah, you’re so old already “

Me : “ Oh, do you think so?”

Kid : “ Yes, I do! you are old now, see your face, every time you smile, I can see wrinkles on your face “

I nodded while talking to myself :

“Am I really that old?”

So after finishing all my work, I took a shower, and after that I looked at myself in the mirror. I found that I’m not young anymore; I saw my wrinkles, my skin is not tuned anymore, my belly full of stretch mark due to my pregnancy before and my body changed a lot.

But hey, it’s OKAY! This happen because we’re only human being. We all going to be old and we have to accept it as a gift.

The next morning, I’m a bit curious and checked my old pictures on my iCould just to find out something, and yes, the thing about being young is, it doesn’t last forever.

When I was a teenager, I thought I should be a perfect girl inside and out. All my friends were perfectionists, and I worked on my image a lot. However, after something happened in my life, I realized that life is too short and I should be happy rather than perfect, so I accepted myself unconditionally. Was it hard? yes it was, does this change worth it? yes, absolutely!

I also remember when I was in my teens, I wanted to feel beautiful, and you know, things like how I was really confident of who I was when I put on makeup and use filters in every picture to make it looks beautiful. But then I had these issues with identity. I’m not going to lie; at that time, I asked myself, “Am I going to do this forever in my entire life?” I feel like somebody else, and I found it hard to see my true self.

But don’t get me wrong, you can do so much with makeup – have you seen those transformation videos? Seriously, some people who are good with makeup can completely change their faces to the point of being unrecognizable. Sure, most people don’t do that, but some certainly do.

So I decided to be confident with who I am, and try not to put on too much makeup, even though makeup enhances my features and hides blemishes, it doesn’t change how my face looks.

Also, I try not to use any filters on my camera. So once I realized that and took time to see myself in the mirror, finally I said, “It’s me!” I’m going to be happy with being who I am.

The Truth About Aging

Aging. What a contentious process. There are things delightful about it, and then there are things absolutely dreadful about it. We grow wiser with age, but we also get wrinkles (hey, that’s exactly what I feel at this moment, lol!)

Although I know at my age right now (which is almost 39), I’m not old enough to consider myself “old yet”, surely, time will bring me there, and I need to embrace it.

I do not consider myself beautiful, but I am grateful for who I am, and I love myself so much. I respect myself, and I value myself, and for me, talking about beauty is not just our appearance; the most important thing is our inner beauty.

Inner beauty – that’s what really matters. So many people nowadays worry too much about their looks. There are many beautiful people out there, but not so many inside. Inner beauty is way more important. We all should value ourselves.

So many people always want to look good or just please everybody and nothing wrong with that but we have to stay true to who we are.

Photo by Ilya Pavlov on Unsplash

Beautiful is Subjective

How many of you think that you are ugly, fat, skinny, slow, useless, and basically ordinary?

How many of you try to fit in just for the sake of the society or the miscellaneous populace?

Almost all will raise their hands to these questions, won’t they?

But none of that matters!

Everybody is beautiful, regardless of whether they are skinny or fat, tall or short; it doesn’t matter.

What matters most is how you look at yourself and are confident in who you are. You are perfect as you are , and for me, being flawless is boring with this personality trapped in a vessel, and when things happen to that vessel, we age, we get scratched, and everything in between, and it doesn’t make anyone less human.

The beauty of the flesh is temporary, and everybody is ugly twice. If you don’t believe it, you can check when the baby is born – 2 minutes after birth – and when you grow old, there are going to have wrinkles all over your body.

So I think that everyone needs to first realize that there’s always going to be someone smarter, beautiful, hotter, taller, shorter, better, etc., than them. You shouldn’t let this affect you because as you get insecure about someone else, they could get insecure while looking at someone else, and so on. Every person shouldn’t be comparing themselves to anyone but themselves. We are all so beautiful; remember that.

There is no one answer to this question, as beauty is subjective. For me, beauty is about being comfortable in your own skin and being confident. It’s also about being kind and compassionate toward others.

Beauty is fleeting!

Beauty and charm are vain and empty!

It doesn’t matter what you look like on the outside; it’s what’s on the inside that counts.

Real beauty is within our hearts, not in our appearance.

Our real identity is that we are not the body, we are spirit souls. Spirit Soul is by nature eternal, undying, and ageless.

Thank you for taking the time to read this story.

--

--

Eunike Ve

Content Writer and Blogger. Writing is my passion and I write about what matters in life.