Artist Spotlight — CMU

Gordon Meier
Gordon’s Articles
8 min readApr 25, 2019

--

Throughout Michigan, there are great creative minds at work to make an impact. All the artist presented have one thing in common. They all attended Central Michigan University. Some artists have graduated or found a new path after their tenure at Central Michigan University. Each artist has raw talent waiting to present their perspective to the world.

Isan Francis: $@n

Source: Gordon Meier

Isan and I go way back. My junior year in high school I got to know Isan well. From working on videos together in our broadcasting class to being in our broadcasting studio while he produced some amazing hits, we got to know each other very well. My junior year, I was the Executive V.P. of Grand Blanc’s Student Government Association. I ran one of the biggest events in our school. This large event was called Inner Class Games(ICG). During this event, I asked Isan to perform one of his most recent songs in front of 2800 students. This performance was a success throughout the school.

In the summer of 2018, Isan and I planned an event called “Project 810". This concert was where he and local artists could showcase their talent and rock the mic for the community. This event was a success due to the great talent we brought into the event. Isan was the reason we had so many great lyrical artists performing that night.

Isan is a year ahead of me, but he was one of the reasons I came to CMU. During my freshman year at CMU, I hung out and collaborated on projects with Isan throughout the fall semester. Isan was one of the people I looked towards for advice due to how wise he was for his age. Isan and I still communicate often and I can’t wait for the next project for me and him to collaborate on next.

Here is the interview I had with Isan about his journey:

Where are you from?

I’m from Flint, Michigan

How long have you created music?

I’ve been making music since I was 14 but I’ve been writing since I was 11 or 12 it’s always been something to come naturally my mom has always been on top of introducing me to newer sounds as well as older classics to draw inspiration from

What do you struggle with as an up and coming artist?

As an artist, I struggle with not getting too preachy or overdoing it. I like to spread positive messages in a lot of my music but I also love to have fun. So I try to balance being serious and being real with appealing to my fun side and showing my talent for rhyming and word bending.

What has been the most successful moment you have had in your career so far?

The advice I would give to other artists creating music is to stay true. There’s a lot of people who create personas and images in order to make a name. The biggest piece of advice I think I could give to anyone is be you because it’s harder to imitate the more authentic you are.

What keeps you going?

I don’t believe I’ve had a single most successful moment in my career I count every step as a win or a mini victory no matter what it is and I think that mindset is what keeps me going because there’s always a hill to climb and if you get content your creativity takes a blow

What makes you sound unique?

What makes me sound unique is the fact that I’m not too unique, if that makes sense I’m as relatable as anyone I’m just very introspective about life and everyday situations and it turns into music and something people can vibe with

Here is some of Isans work he has produced.

Isan ($@N): Interview for Project 810

Aaron Johnson: CODA

Source: Transparency Ministries

I first met Aaron Johnson (CODA) through my friend Isan. CODA came up to my home town and showed off his talent at a concert I was putting on. In Grand Blanc, I threw a concert called “Project 810”. This event was a success in where we could display CODA’s raw talent.

CODA and I have worked on recent projects. I filmed his EP release concert “Thyme Will Tell”, from this event I produced 2 Instagram video promoting his lyrical genius. CODA is one of the most down to earth people I know, and his raw talent and creativity is greatly shown throughout his work.

Here is the Interview I had with Aaron Johnson (CODA):

Where are you from?

I’m from Brighton, Michigan

How long have you created music?

I’ve been creating music on different levels for 20 years now. It started as beat-boxing, grew into playing drums, then into song-writing, rapping and producing.

What do you struggle with as an up and coming artist?

I struggle with a lot of things. Feeling like the quality of my music deserve a larger audience than it currently has, questioning whether the “grind” is worth it, insecurities about what impact (if any) does/will my music have on the listeners, wondering why it’s taking so long to get a “break” and many more things like these.

What advice do you have for those who are trying to create their own Music?

My biggest, and I think most important advice that I can give at this stage of my career is to stay consistent and learn how to encourage yourself because people won’t always know exactly how to inspire you but you know. Also, don’t lie. Be true to the you that will help people and leave a GOOD lasting impact on those you get the chance to influence.

What has been the most successful moment you have had in your career so far?

The most successful moments I’m my career happen every time I release new music or have a show. When a person comes up to me and takes the tie to tell me about how the music has impacted their heart/perspective it really really blesses my soul and encourages me to keep moving.

What keeps you going?

I would say a combination of what I mentioned in the previous question (people’s testimonials) and just those small moments in the studio and on stage when I can feel God’s hand of approval on me. It’s this overwhelming peace that’s similar to when your mom or dad tells you “you’re doing such a great job…keep it up, I’m right here.” There’s really nothing in this world like Godly affirmation.

What makes you sound unique?

I think a lot of things make me sound unique to people. I have an interesting way of allowing my music to be encouraging, yet not preachy, hard but not hammering. Faith in Jesus Christ is the breathe that all of my music comes from and I believe that if you listen to the words, you can tell, at the same time through the music is undeniably high caliber in terms of the quality of the sounds I use. Additionally, I’m a classically educated musician so my music, if you really wanted to analyze it, is extremely interesting in terms of timbre, style, dynamic contrast and overall composition.

CODA: Interview for Project 810

A Collaboration: CODA and Taraj

This song was performed at CODA’s EP Concert with Aaron and Taraj.

Taraj

Source: Taraj, Sound Cloud

I met Taraj a few times throughout this past year at CMU. I was first introduced to Taraj by my friend Isan. This took place in Moore Hall when Taraj was working in the studio. This 2019 Spring semester Taraj and I shared a Golf class, but this wouldn’t be the last time I would see him. I got to see Taraj perform with Arron Johnson (CODA) in March. They performed at CODA’s EP release concert for “Thyme Will Tell”.

Here is the interview I had with Taraj

Where are you from?

New Haven, MI

How long have you created music?

I’ve been an instrumental musician for years, been playing trumpet since I was 8. I also used to try and compose musicals and classical music.

To be more specific, I’ve been making hip hop and R&B, l secretly for 4 years and publicly for 2 years.

What do you struggle with as an up and coming artist?

I struggle with keeping confidence in my art. A lot of people say they make music and they are mediocre. So when some of us that aren’t created, they kind of discount you regardless because EVERYONE does it. Although we all create for ourselves, it sucks when you have to rely on someone else to put you in a better position and they aren’t saying anything at all.

I also struggle with getting my name out there. People don’t always share your music solely because they know you.

Also, buying quality beats, since school is too demanding for me to also have a good job.

What advice do you have for those who are trying to create their own Music?

Learn to produce. Learn to mix. Learn mastering. Try to create every day, no matter what comes out of it. Experiment, enjoy yourself and don’t let other people dictate how you feel about what you do. Also, have something to say sometimes, even if it’s just one song per project.

What has been the most successful moment you have had in your career so far?

I got signed to an independent record label, Bentley Records In February. They really liked my music and took a chance on me and my first album.

What keeps you going?

In all honesty, not wanting to disappoint myself and feeling like I have stuff to prove. I have a strong desire and drive to create. I struggle sometimes but it doesn’t stop me. Nothing will stop me.

What makes you sound unique?

My voice and my versatility. I just have a voice that’s “pleasing to the ear”. A lot of people say they can do it all, but they can’t jump on an ethereal trap song, some punk rock, do a soul song, do a dancehall record THEN get on some boom bap. I can.

Here is some of Taraj work he has produced.

These artists have great stories od what they have had to persevere throughout life. Their work is their life, and they love every second of it. Feel free to share their work if you enjoy it!

--

--