How Reading Book Can Shape My Life

Reffi Dhinar
Gossiping Book
Published in
3 min readAug 29, 2019

It is not about the bookworm story only, it is about my true experience in reading and changing my life.

Reading is the smartest way to know new knowledge. I admit if some people who love reading look smarter than others. But I don’t say if the non-well-read person is dumber. Somehow everyone has a different style to learn. But I just want to tell you that through reading I have solved some my biggest fear and problems.

I want to go a few years ago when I faced the multiple broken heart times in my teen life. If I saw me in the past, it was a clumsy and foolish act to cry over a boy who wasn’t worthy to cry for. Besides I wrote my sadness into a story or blog post, I read some books to heal myself.

Years passed, in my adult life, I face a more complicated problem, not only about puppy love. I try to handle my negative emotion and choosing to leave the toxic environment after reading the related books.

A Book For Meditate

This book is so famous in Indonesia and now it has been published to 7 series. ‘Pemulihan Jiwa’ means soul healing. I read it when I was in severe pain after my first and second broken heart. This book taught me to not blaming myself and learning to listen my inner soul. To heal we should accept our pain, we cannot force to forget. I agree with this book, if we force ourselves to forget, we should remember it again. This book was bundled with a meditation CD.

A Book To Push Me Resigning My Toxic Job

I worked in a big company and I love the hectic job tasks. But in my third year, I face some misunderstanding with my office partner. I had tried to cope it calmly but it was getting worse. I was being bullied mentally, falsely accused, and experiencing other non-sense drama. I started to feel depressed. Anxiety raised higher until I was sick physically. Reading this book was giving me the bravery to ignore them, cut the toxic tie and resigned from that office.

Loving Myself More

Last year I found the copy when I went to the airport. I have achieved some goals and dreams but I felt kind of unhappiness. I reap many great insights from this book and trying to walk slower and putting my attention to the little details in my life. Happiness can be created creatively.

I am an avid reader and I read various genre. From romance novel, suspense-thriller, biography, business, etc. But the books I mentioned above scratched a deep meaning and shaping my thoughts. Then It has shaped my life.

--

--