We Don’t Need to Turn Back Time

Reading this novel ‘If I Could Turn Back Time’ is mirroring myself and reflecting some women issues about their self-confidence.

Reffi Dhinar
Gossiping Book
4 min readJun 29, 2019

--

I often heard my friend’s complaining about how they want to turn back time to fix their faults even their fail a relationship. Sometimes I do the daydreaming if I reacted with the different way, could I keep up my fail relationship better? Could I make him just loving me instead of cheating me with the girl who was very frankly wanting him so much?

But, looking at my achievements after the darkest days and how I can fall in love again with another kind guy (although it didn’t work well, at least I knew what is the mature relationship), I won’t be back to my damn ex and I choose to be happier just like now.

Reading this novel ‘If I Could Turn Back Time’ is mirroring myself and reflecting some women issues about their self-confidence. Zoe Kennedy who has a desire in fashion, resigned from her previous job to pursue her dream and finally finding a gorgeous boyfriend. David is the husband material who is handsome, having a secure prestigious job as the doctor, and comes from a respectable family.

Zoe is so falling over heels to him until their relationship can’t work well and David decided to dump her. In a mysterious event, Zoe comes back to the past when she is still David’s girlfriend. She knows everything and she can fix the problems that make her relationship getting worse little by little.

In my personal experience, of course, I won’t come back to my ex because he has a problem with loyalty but in Zoe’s case is on a different level. Some of my friends often say, “My ex is husband material. He is very mature and respecting me. I regret because I can’t be a better girlfriend.”

I ask, “Are you happier now or then?”

And she says, “I’m happier now, but what’s going on with me? Am I too picky? Even now I won’t date a lame or bastard guy. Why I can’t act more patient to my ex?” And the story will continue longer and longer.

In my opinion, she is happier and becomes the best version of her life after a break-up. Sometimes, the kind guy isn’t enough

Sometimes, the kind guy isn’t enough. Before you marry someone, you should check how is his/her friends, How is the family? Can you receive her/his daily habit? Do you like a workaholic spouse or not? And so on.

This novel brings the reality clearly and opening my eyes wider. Zoe isn’t comfortable with David’s parents. She comes from a simple family while David’s parents are coming from a wealthy family. Their attitude towards Zoe isn’t so friendly, what else David has an annoying female best friend who is often sticking to David. Zoe tries to be a mature woman with hiding her complaint. She wants David to give more attention to their relationship, but David looks like giving more attention to his job.

We can’t force someone to be the one that we like. A relationship needs effort and good cooperation, My Mom said that. Love and lust are temporary, it can fade in some months or sometimes in a week if you can’t accept his hidden habit. Just like Zoe, I want to be better of myself and learning to be more mature, but I will choose the respective partner. I want to be honest and communicate well everything that I like or dislike. He can do the same too.

Loyalty and trust is the main base. We don’t need the perfect guy like David with his dazzling job or good background, but at the same time torturing us with his uncaring character. We need a spouse who can make us comfort, just like a best friend. Growing and fighting, sometimes sad sometimes happy but never break the trust.

Zoe is finally attracted to Max. He is a scientist who wears ordinary clothes and Zoe doesn’t like his untidy habits. But after she explains to Max, Max accepts his opinion. Zoe becomes really herself without fake tan or decent dress to impress Max.

Thank you for the author who created this novel. It is really worth to read for women who are confused about their love life. Losing someone doesn't mean the end of the world. It is the start to achieve more, traveling more often, loving ourselves deeper.

--

--