GovCamp North tools

Sharon Dale
GovCamp | North
Published in
2 min readJun 29, 2020
Cartoon characters having a video call (images by @rabiskus_do_joao on Instagram)

As I mentioned in my last GovCamp North post I have been looking at a variety of tools to run our Openspace event in October particularly now that we have decided that it will be an online event.

Our working assumptions are:

  • We will have around 200 participants
  • Participants may be using their work computers and so some tools will be blocked by some organisations
  • Participants may want to use a mobile device such as a tablet

I have looked at Videofacilitator, Qiqochat and Hopin since the last post.

  • Videofacilitator did not work with a tablet and currently has a limit of 100 participants.
  • Hopin looks very good. I have attended two events using Hopin as their platform in the last week Re-Festival and Dynamo (North East) 20 (both excellent events). Unfortunately I was unable to demonstrate Hopin to the whole organiser team this week as the product has a limit of 5 participants per month for a meeting on the free plan and I had failed to book myself a ticket before they were all booked so I need to rearrange that when people are free.
  • I have played with Qiqochat but need to set up a call with a group of people to see how it works under those circumstances. I will do that once we have tried Hopin properly.

We will also need to offer tools for people to work together in groups. At the moment I am considering: Chat, Google documents, Google slides, Miro, Fun Retro, and Trello among others. We are likely to offer a few and we will be offering some training/familiarisation sessions and videos before the event. I am interested in any opinions you might have about particular tools.

The next thing I will be working on is to offer some techniques you could use for your conversation and training/guidance for these.

--

--

Sharon Dale
GovCamp | North

I help women navigating constant brain fog to thrive without adding to their overwhelm, by providing accountability & support.