What Moves You?

Proof of Concept

Grant Blankenship
What Moves You, Georgia
2 min readOct 14, 2015

--

I ran into a problem in the final stretch of reporting the story of why folks are waiting for sidewalks on one Macon, GA road.

How do I prove there is a problem?

There are no recorded pedestrian accidents on Log Cabin Drive. Macon-Bibb County in general leads the state in pedestrian fatalities, but, in my radio piece, I was left essentially telling the listener to take the word of the resident I talked to as the truth. Andrew Wooten says flatly he will not walk here.

Here on the internet, things are a bit easier. I made one last trip out to Log Cabin to get a closing image for the full story. While out, I saw this: a man sprinting across the bridge to beat the cars soon to be coming towards him from up the hill.

So while there aren’t numbers I can appeal to to make the case for safety enhancements on Log Cabin Drive, I think this image at least picks up the slack.

A man runs across the bridge over Rocky Creek on Log Cabin Drive in Macon, GA. (Grant Blankenship/GPB News)

--

--

Grant Blankenship
What Moves You, Georgia

Multimedia reporter (A/V Nerd) with Georgia Public Broadcasting. Heard on NPR. Photos (have been) seen in the New York Times, etc. Really a local kinda guy.