Humor

Doing Stuff

A weird winner

White Feather
Grab a Slice
Published in
2 min readFeb 10, 2021

--

When the winners were selected one of those winners had already gone home. Winning did not matter to her. And neither did losing. The only thing she cared about was the joy of doing.

She did a lot of things. It did not matter if she had never done something before or if she was naturally good at it. There were so many things to do and she wanted to do them all. Instead of waiting around to find out the winners she could instead be doing something else new.

She knew that there were not enough minutes in a lifetime to do everything there is to do. She did not want to do everything; she simply wanted to always be doing something.

Her friend thought she was nuts, “Don’t you ever want to just stop and rest?”

“Of course. In fact I am always looking for new ways to rest. I rest numerous times throughout the day. I almost always feel well-rested. But instead of resting for long periods I rest more often for shorter periods. And, of course, at the end of the day I rest as I review all the things I did during the day.”

“So you take stock of your accomplishments?”

“No, no. I don’t care about accomplishments. Accomplishing something means finishing something; completing a task. I don’t care if I finish something. I only…

--

--