Hallucination

Poetry

Salitha Nirmana Meththasinghe
Grab a Slice
2 min readNov 7, 2018

--

It was the serenest evening
I had ever witnessed
in my whole life,
Sitting in balcony,
gazing at the sunset,
with hands around the teacup
that was on the table,
I had dwelt on the
tranquility
that had filled the atmosphere.

In a certain state
where reality and illusion
couldn’t be separated from
each other,
I contemplated her arrival
in my world,
like the moon among
dark clouds
which rules the night
teasing the darkness.

She was a stranger,
She was uninvited,
But she was there
in front of me
standing still.
Her gentle smile decorated
the novelty
between two of us,
while a strange feeling
was convincing me
that I had been expecting her
for my entire life.

Getting enchanted by her
very presence,
and trying to calm the
consciousness
that was touched by
her unparalleled beauty,
I was there sitting on
the chair
as if I were bound
to the seat.

Moments became days
and days became years.
She was beside me every time,
in success and failure
and sickness and health,
Holding my hand
and holding onto me
she walked me among starry heavens,
whispering divine words in
my ears
to console the battered mind of
mine.

Erasing fears and doubts
that haunted
my psyche for years,
she made my life easier
bringing relief to
my wounded soul.
Like a mother figure
who takes care of her
only child,
she nurtured me with
love and affection
guiding me towards
sanity once again.

Once,
in an evening
that was decorated by
the colors of summer,
we were sitting at the
table facing each
other.
The sun was setting
behind her,
Everything was still
But for a moment
I felt like surroundings
were pretending to
be calm.

While getting mesmerized
by her glittering eyes,
I let go of myself
trying to surrender to this soothing
moment.
It was like her aura was
working a spell
on me.
I closed my eyes
letting her wonderful vibes
go through my soul.

Then, something happened
at once,
Felt like stability and balance
were letting go of me
at the same time.
I opened my eyes
and saw
her figure was fading and
disappearing into thin air,
Within a blink of
an eye
the illusion was gone
and reality approached
me.

Sun had set
and darkness had
covered whole
environment,
Stars were appearing,
They vanished the loneliness
of night sky,
The chair in front of me
remained empty
showing no sign of being
occupied,
The tea of the cup had
been spilled
all over table
bringing a smile to
my face.

Copyright © 2018 Salitha Nirmana Meththasinghe. All Rights Reserved.

--

--