I Quit My Toxic Corporate Job. Now What?

Caroline Kaye
Grab a Slice
Published in
3 min readSep 1, 2020

“I love my job so much, it doesn’t even feel like work.”

I heard that sentence a few times while growing up and always thought, “I want that.” I never dreamt of it being a question. I thought it was a given to love your job. Then life happened and also life is expensive, did you know that? Wild.

Suddenly at 22, I found myself in a job simply to pay the bills. It was fine at first. The work wasn’t too difficult. In fact most days I was convinced we could have trained a monkey to do it. (Definitely could have to be honest.) Although, very quickly, I began to realize…I wasn’t Caroline anymore, I was a number to their company. I was not important. My opinions did not matter. I felt less and less valued as each day continued. What an awful way to live don’t you think?

Think about it, typically you spend far more time at work during the week than your own house. Some part of it has to be good or it will drain you quickly.

The walls were gray, the halls were quiet, and the days were long. I would drift off into a daydream frequently of having endless time to write and be creative. But I was stuck in a mundane environment with zero inspiration.

I know there are a lot of adults working in jobs they might not be passionate about, but usually the people they’re surrounded by make it a better place. I’m a firm believer in having people in your circle who lift you up and make you a better, you.

Every single interaction I had with any sort of management at this job, was a hypocritical one. For example:

“Speak up if something is not right!” “But not too loud because we don’t want anyone knowing we have flaws.”

“Share any ideas you might have!” “But we most likely aren’t listening when you talk.”

“If you see something unfair in the workplace, please let someone know!” “That’s great! But actually, we call that stirring up trouble. So we will no longer treat you fairly.”

“Be honest with your managers, we want you to be transparent.” “We will take that honesty as being a little too mouthy and make sure you know to sit down and shut up.”

Don’t even get me started on the difference in treatment of women as compared to men. We all know how that goes, unfortunately.

Here’s what I’ve taken away from my time in an occupation that seemingly stripped me of creativity, joy, and even pieces of my personality for some time; Sometimes yes, you do have to stick it out. Let’s face it, bills do not pay themselves, (If you know any that do, please don’t hesitate to reach out), Although you should never, compromise who you are, for a group of people who will never care to learn who that is. Never. Do what you gotta do, but start asking around, sending out your resume, even sending up some “Dear God get me out of here prayers.”

As a young person in this generation, we are all learning together the exceedingly creative ways to make an income. It doesn’t come down to a 9–5 job…which by the way, has now turned into 9–6. Another reason to avoid at all costs.

So one piece of advice since you made it this far! Support your friends. Read their blogs, share their posts, buy their products. Be a good supportive human so that we don’t need those toxic work environments anymore.

What’s your experience in a toxic/ not so great work place? What did you do about it?

Stay cool and stay kind.

Caroline

--

--

Caroline Kaye
Grab a Slice

Lover of breakfast for dinner & writing out my feelings. Passionate about writing out the things, we’re sometimes too afraid to talk about.