Old Mortality

Meets the digital age

Mark Kelly
Grab a Slice

--

Photo by Mayron Oliveira on Unsplash

My uncle died a few weeks ago. He didn’t die from the virus, but his funeral was affected by the ongoing restrictions. Today those of us too distant or too numerous to attend got to watch the crematorium service live-streamed to our laptops or smartphones. It made what would always be a sombre experience surreal and grimly affecting.

It was a one-way connection, so I could see my Mum, Dad, widowed Aunt and other family members playing their part, but couldn’t interact in any way. They were all respectful, socially distanced, and in most cases mask-wearing. It seemed almost disrespectful to be watching remotely in comfort and casual attire, like a ghost at the feast.

So this is the new grieving, as constrained by Coronavirus and facilitated by technology. Some of the most painful stories coming out of the past six months have been of parents being prevented from saying a last farewell to their children and vice versa.

I can’t help but hope for a more personal departure when the time comes.

And what of the deceased? The quickly-conscripted minister did a good job with the notes given to him by the family, especially in highlighting that my uncle lived exactly the way he wanted to live right up until his demise. I guess that should be a goal for all of us.

--

--

Mark Kelly
Grab a Slice

Writing about family, trading, spirituality and popular culture. Speculating in my fiction and investments. Made more mistakes than I’m admitting here.