Plato’s Cave, Challenges and Ozark on Netflix

A short update

Darius
Grab a Slice
3 min readJan 24, 2022

--

A photo of a wooden church in Ozark
https://pixabay.com/users/burkhead45-15759448/

Birutė Saulytė asked me to participate in her project. I have to write a story or two in my native language and I must tell you, it makes me nervous. I even ask writers on Medium whether I should participate.

I haven’t written in Lithuanian for a long time. I never was good at the written word in Lithuanian, my passion to write started when I moved to the UK. I never thought that it will be a hobby of mine. It came with age. I guess it started when I gained more life experience (or I got older) and had something to say.

The English language is an easier tool to express my thoughts, feelings and observations. Lithuanian grammar is a minefield. One needs to be well prepared before starting to write in that beautiful but archaic language.

I wrote a short (a super short) story and got homework from Birute to expand and fix it. I must confess, I don’t really like challenges unless it’s a new kettlebell routine I am learning. The story is called “Plato Ola Ir Jos Gyventojai” or Plato Cave and Its Inhabitants. If the story will be accepted I will translate it into English for you to read.

I am surprised how much other authors write on Medium, some of you push to five/six stories a day. How do you do that? My mind would go BOOM. Some of us on here are writers in a true sense, some are Medium writers and some of us are content creators.

I took a few days off so I could finish the Plato story. I promised myself that I will work on it but instead, I watched Ozark on Netflix. Have you watched it yet? It’s a brilliant piece of writing. Well thought through characters, excellent dialogues, never-ending tension. I truly enjoyed the series. Quality writing is not dead yet.

Have you noticed that I haven’t spoken about what I usually speak about? Do you know why? Because I am tired of the bullshit. The current, insane situation is being normalised, we will live in this state, the state of war against, anything. Viruses, Russians, Aliens, Climate catastrophe. And how are we going to fight ‘enemies’? We will watch another series on Netflix when they lock us down once more. But that will happen another time. Sorry for those who still live through lockdowns at this very moment. It’s interesting how politicians in your countries washed any responsibility off their hands and blame anybody but themselves for the mismanagement. Corporations and their colleagues in governments blame us for the climate disaster while plastic packed blueberries travel across the world on aeroplanes. Don’t get me wrong, I like blueberries but I like them in summer, grown or picked up locally and not in South Africa.

Sorry for the random thoughts. Have a good day wherever you are!

--

--