Society

Plugged In

The internet as an energy source

White Feather
Grab a Slice
Published in
3 min readJan 19, 2021

--

Vince and Troy met for coffee and scones. It was a blistery cold day and even in the warmth of the coffeehouse they kept on their coats.

Troy cradled his coffee cup in his hands for warmth, “So how’s the experiment going?”

“I don’t know. I’ve gone six days now without getting on the internet and I’m feeling lost and scattered and lethargic. I thought it was supposed to feel good to detox from the internet but man, I just don’t have any energy whatsoever.”

“Really?”

“Yeah. I don’t understand it. Remember when Christine went a whole month without the internet? She said she was filled with energy.”

Troy sipped his coffee, “God yes, I remember. She wouldn’t shut up about it. I went thirty whole days without the internet and without meat and now I’m freaking enlightened. I just wanted to slap her.”

Vince laughed, “I know what you mean. But I guess I took her seriously. I thought my life would get better and I’d have some grandiose epiphany or something. Yeah, right. Instead I feel like life has lost all meaning. You know what I did yesterday?”

Troy took a bite of blueberry scone without saying anything.

--

--