Solstice Joy

Best wishes from a solar freak

White Feather
Grab a Slice

--

Photo by Dawid Zawiła on Unsplash

I am always overcome with a wave of happiness on the Winter Solstice. This is because of the knowing that the days will now start getting longer again. I guess it is part of being a solar addict freak.

To me it is inspiring that I can experience this happiness on the shortest, coldest, darkest day of the year. Sadly, on the Summer Solstice, the day with the most amount of sun of any day (in the Northern Hemisphere), I feel a wave of dread knowing that the days begin getting shorter.

Are these expectations part of what helps maintain the planet’s wobble? Or are they just personal reactions? Is it a natural part of being an Earthling?

I have been delighted to learn that from one of the windows in my new apartment I can watch the sunrise for about two weeks before and two weeks after the Winter Solstice. This is nice when there are six inches of snow on the ground and the temperature is below that of a polar bear’s frozen margarita. Thanks to the buildings and trees, the rest of the year I have to go outside to find an unobstructed view of that precious moment when the sun pokes its head above the horizon.

I hope all you other Earthlings, no matter where on the planet you are, are enjoying your experience with the Winter Solstice.

Copyright by White Feather. All Rights Reserved. Thanks for reading.

--

--