Dreams

The Missing Jacket

And Jerry Seinfeld’s closets

White Feather
Grab a Slice
Published in
4 min readJan 13, 2021

--

Image by Steve Buisinne — (Pixabay)

I tore my new apartment upside down looking for my favorite jacket but I could not find it. It was one of those leather flight jackets that Air Force pilots wore. It had a sheepskin lining and was very, very warm. When I wore it I felt like Sam Shepard in The Right Stuff. That jacket was a babe magnet. Women always wanted to touch it.

Then it hit me that perhaps I failed to bring the jacket with me when I moved so I went to my old apartment and knocked on the door. It felt weird to knock because for years I just unlocked the door and went inside.

After a moment the door opened and there stood Jerry Seinfeld. With a smile on his face he asked in a very cordial tone, “Can I help you?”

I explained to Jerry that I was the previous tenant and that I had lost my favorite jacket and felt that I perhaps had left it in my old apartment.

Jerry reached out to shake my hand, “I’ve never met previous tenants of any apartments I’ve ever lived in. What a delight. Please, please come in and look for your jacket.”

Once inside I realized that there were several people in the apartment milling about and talking with each other. I also noticed that the apartment was extremely cluttered and messy. It was obvious that…

--

--